UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Thirsk & Malton

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Kevin Hollinrake
    • Votes: 35,634
    • Vote share %: 63.0
    • Vote share change: +2.9
  2. Labour
    David Yellen
    • Votes: 10,480
    • Vote share %: 18.5
    • Vote share change: -7.5
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Dinah Keal
    • Votes: 6,774
    • Vote share %: 12.0
    • Vote share change: +5.1
  4. Green
    Martin Brampton
    • Votes: 2,263
    • Vote share %: 4.0
    • Vote share change: +2.0
  5. The Yorkshire Party
    John Hall
    • Votes: 881
    • Vote share %: 1.6
    • Vote share change: +1.6
  6. Independent
    Steve Mullins
    • Votes: 245
    • Vote share %: 0.4
    • Vote share change: +0.4
  7. Independent
    Gordon Johnson
    • Votes: 184
    • Vote share %: 0.3
    • Vote share change: +0.3
  8. Social Democratic Party
    Michael Taylor
    • Votes: 127
    • Vote share %: 0.2
    • Vote share change: +0.2

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 25,154
  • Registered voters: 80,979
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -1.2

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 63.0%
Labour 18.5%
Liberal Democrat 12.0%
Green 4.0%
The Yorkshire Party 1.6%
Independent 0.4%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +5.1 Gained
  • Conservative +2.9 Gained
  • Green +2.0 Gained
  • The Yorkshire Party +1.6 Gained
  • Independent +0.4 Gained
  • Labour -7.5 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Setback for MP's hopes for A64 road improvement cash

A North Yorkshire MP's hopes of securing funding to improve a "notorious" stretch of road have suffered a setback after the scheme was left out of yesterday's Budget.

A64 at York

Ahead of the Budget, Kevin Hollinrake, MP for Thirsk and Malton, said he had "high hopes" that funding would be announced to turn part of the A64 between York's Hopgrove roundabout and Flaxton into a dual carriageway.

Mr Hollinrake said he'd hoped the road dualling would be completed by 2025, now he says he'll press for it to be completed by 2027/2028.

The MP says: "It's taxpayers' money, we've got to be careful with it, we're talking £250m to £300m on this road.

"So it's a lot of money and we've got to make sure that money is spent well."

Thirsk & Malton: Conservative hold

Kevin Hollinrake has been re-elected as the MP for Thirsk & Malton, with an increased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Labour's David Yellen by 25,154 votes, 6,153 more votes than the majority at the 2017 election.

Dinah Keal of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Green Party's Martin Brampton came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 1.2 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 57,000 people, 69.9% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Five of the eight candidates lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingThirsk and Malton: Conservative hold

Conservative candidate Kevin Hollinrake has been re-elected as MP for Thirsk and Malton.

What happened in England's biggest county?

We have one of the of the most dramatic results in recent General Election history.

Instead of the expected clear increased majority in the House Of Commons, the Conservatives lost seats and we have a hung parliament.

All North Yorkshire MPs kept their seats and the Conservatives continue to form a ring around the Labour seat of York Central.

Here's Phil Bodmer to round up what happened in England's largest county:

Thirsk & Malton: Conservative hold

Result graphic

BreakingRESULT: Conservative hold Thirsk & Malton

Kevin Hollinrake is re-elected for the Conservative party in Thirsk & Malton.

Waiting for the result in Malton

Adam Smith

BBC Local Live, Yorkshire

Ever wondered what candidates and their supporters do at election counts while they wait?

Well they are watching the national election picture on the tv.