UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 318 262 35 12 10 13
Change −13 +30 −21 +4 +2 −2
UK Results

After 650 of 650 seats


Parliamentary constituency


General Election 2017 results
Party Votes % Net percentage change in seats



Esther McVey Votes 28,764 header_vote_share 58.6 Net percentage change in seats -0.1



Sam Rushworth Votes 13,977 header_vote_share 28.5 Net percentage change in seats +10.1


Liberal Democrat

Gareth Wilson Votes 4,431 header_vote_share 9.0 Net percentage change in seats +0.5


Green Party

Nigel Hennerley Votes 1,024 header_vote_share 2.1 Net percentage change in seats -1.7



Quentin Abel Votes 920 header_vote_share 1.9 Net percentage change in seats +1.9

Turnout and CON majority

CON majority




Vote share

Party %
Conservative 58.6
Labour 28.5
Liberal Democrat 9.0
Green Party 2.1
Independent 1.9

Vote share change since 2015

Liberal Democrat
Green Party

Latest updates

Tatton MP promoted to cabinet role

BBC Politics

In case you missed it yesterday, Tatton MP Esther McVey has been promoted to be the new work and pensions secretary.

Esther McVey
Getty Images

The 50-year-old was appointed following Justine Greening's decision to resign from the government after refusing the role in Theresa May's cabinet reshuffle.

Liverpool-born McVey was elected to the Cheshire constituency in last year's general election.

Cheshire MP to join cabinet as deputy chief whip

The MP for Tatton Esther McVey, has been made deputy chief whip.

Esther McVey MP
Getty Images

The former Welfare Minister was asked to step up to the role as part of a cabinet reshuffle. It follows Michael Fallon's resignation.

McVey failed to win re-election to her Wirral West seat in 2015 but returned to parliament this year in the Tatton seat, after George Osborne stepped down.

The previous deputy chief whip and MP for Skipton and Ripon, Julian Smith, has stepped up to the position of chief whip.

'Sexist' hats withdrawn by stately home

Hats bearing the slogan "Future Footballers Wife" have been removed from sale at a stately home owned by the National Trust.

Laura Goss

The headgear, which was spotted at a gift shop at Tatton Park in Cheshire, prompted derision on social media.

Laura Goss tweeted the trust: "This stupid hat is for sale at Tatton Park. Your young female visitors deserve better merch (+ better grammar)."

The council that runs Tatton Park said the hats were a "genuine mistake".

RHS Tatton Flower Show opens to public tomorrow

More than 70,000 people expected in Cheshire for the opening day of the RHS Tatton Flower Show.

View more on twitter

The Knutsford-based show is having a members' day today. It opens to the public tomorrow and runs until Sunday.

It features garden displays, masterclasses and competitions.

Tatton's new MP Esther McVey and supporters

Esther McVey held on to Tatton for the Tories after ex-chancellor George Osborne stood down in May.

Esther McVey and supporters

Tatton: Conservative Hold

Election Graphic

Tatton: Conservative hold

Esther McVey has held the safe Cheshire seat of Tatton for the Conservatives.

The former employment minister, who lost her Wirral West constituency in the 2015 general election, secured 59% of the vote.

The seat was previously held by former Chancellor George Osborne, who resigned to become editor of the Evening Standard in London.

General election 2017: How do I register to vote?

Don't get left outside on polling day. Here are details of what you need and where you need to go to register for the general election on 8 June:

The deadline to register is 22 May


, with candidate George Osborne
, have the following results:
  • 26,552 total votes taken.
  • 58.6% share of the total vote
  • +4.0% change in share of the votes
, with candidate David Pinto-Duschinsky
, have the following results:
  • 8,311 total votes taken.
  • 18.3% share of the total vote
  • +1.1% change in share of the votes
, with candidate Stuart Hutton
, have the following results:
  • 4,871 total votes taken.
  • 10.8% share of the total vote
  • +10.8% change in share of the votes
Liberal Democrat
, with candidate Gareth Wilson
, have the following results:
  • 3,850 total votes taken.
  • 8.5% share of the total vote
  • -14.1% change in share of the votes
Green Party
, with candidate Tina Rothery
, have the following results:
  • 1,714 total votes taken.
  • 3.8% share of the total vote
  • +3.8% change in share of the votes

Change compared with 2010

Back to top