UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 318 262 35 12 10 13
Change −13 +30 −21 +4 +2 −2
UK Results

After 650 of 650 seats

Suffolk Coastal

Parliamentary constituency


General Election 2017 results
Party Votes % Net percentage change in seats



Therese Coffey Votes 33,713 header_vote_share 58.1 Net percentage change in seats +6.1



Cameron Matthews Votes 17,701 header_vote_share 30.5 Net percentage change in seats +12.5


Liberal Democrat

James Sandbach Votes 4,048 header_vote_share 7.0 Net percentage change in seats -1.6


Green Party

Eamonn O'Nolan Votes 1,802 header_vote_share 3.1 Net percentage change in seats -2.8



Philip Young Votes 810 header_vote_share 1.4 Net percentage change in seats +1.4

Turnout and CON majority

CON majority




Vote share

Party %
Conservative 58.1
Labour 30.5
Liberal Democrat 7.0
Green Party 3.1
Independent 1.4

Vote share change since 2015

Liberal Democrat
Green Party

Latest updates

Suffolk boundary changes: Needham Market on the move?

Jon Wright

BBC Radio Suffolk

Needham Market residents could be voting in a different Parliamentary constituency at the next election, if plans to change the electoral boundaries are approved by MPs.

The proposals from the Boundary Commission are designed to even out the numbers of voters in each seat, while reducing the number of MPs from 650 to 600.

House of Commons

Needham, along with Combs, Battisford, Ringshall and Great Bricett would move from the Bury St Edmunds seat to the seat of Central Suffolk & North Ipswich.

That in turn loses a bit of Ipswich north of Colchester Road to the Ipswich constituency.

Suffolk Coastal gains Hasketon and Great and Little Bealings, but loses Pettistree, Stratford St Andrew and Farnham.

Plans for another 'super-sized' district council

Plans to create Suffolk's third "super-sized" district council could get the go-ahead later.

Babergh and Mid Suffolk's cabinets will vote today on whether to push ahead with plans to dissolve the two authorities to create one large one.

Four other districts - Waveney and Suffolk Coastal, and Forest Heath and St Edmundsbury - have already started the process.

Suffolk Coastal constituency voting graphic

A reminder of the results in Suffolk Coastal:

  • Conservative - Therese Coffey (Elected)
  • Labour - Cameron Matthews
  • Green Party - Eamonn O'Nolan
  • Lib Dem - James Sandbach
  • Independent - Philip Young
Suffolk Coastal voting graphic

The county's new political landscape

If you're just joining us, here's a reminder of the MPs who'll be representing the county following the general election:

  • Bury St Edmunds - Jo Churchill (Conservative)
  • Central Suffolk & North Ipswich - Dan Poulter (Conservative)
  • Ipswich - Sandy Martin (Labour)
  • South Suffolk - James Cartlidge (Conservative)
  • Suffolk Coastal - Therese Coffey (Conservative)
  • West Suffolk - Matthew Hancock (Conservative)
  • Waveney - Peter Aldous (Conservative)
Map showing political state of county

Suffolk Coastal: Conservative hold

Election Graphic

Suffolk Coastal MP takes 'great heart' from result

In her acceptance speech, Therese Coffey said: "I just want to say how thrilled I am to be here. The third time elected, with an increasing share of the vote every time, and I really take great heart from that.

"I'm going to keep this short and sweet but in essence I'm so proud to have been re-elected as the member of parliament for Suffolk Coastal.

"It's my intention to work with our local excellent councils and to try to continue to make Suffolk Coastal an even better place to live and work in the following few years and beyond."

Here's a breakdown of the votes polled:

  • Therese Coffey, Conservative - 33,713
  • Cameron Matthews, Labour - 17,701
  • Eamonn O'Nolan, Green Party - 1,802
  • James Sandbach, Lib Dem - 4,048
  • Philip Young, Independent - 810

BreakingResounding win for Therese Coffey in Suffolk Coastal

Conservative Therese Coffey says she's "thrilled" as it's announced she has polled almost double the votes of the closest candidate.

Further details shortly.

Papers stack up but will we see a result in less than an hour?



, with candidate Therese Coffey
, have the following results:
  • 28,855 total votes taken.
  • 51.9% share of the total vote
  • +5.5% change in share of the votes
, with candidate Russell Whiting
, have the following results:
  • 10,013 total votes taken.
  • 18.0% share of the total vote
  • +2.0% change in share of the votes
, with candidate Daryll Pitcher
, have the following results:
  • 8,655 total votes taken.
  • 15.6% share of the total vote
  • +9.8% change in share of the votes
Liberal Democrat
, with candidate James Sandbach
, have the following results:
  • 4,777 total votes taken.
  • 8.6% share of the total vote
  • -21.2% change in share of the votes
Green Party
, with candidate Rachel Smith-Lyte
, have the following results:
  • 3,294 total votes taken.
  • 5.9% share of the total vote
  • +3.9% change in share of the votes

Change compared with 2010

Back to top