UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Siobhan Baillie
    • Votes: 31,582
    • Vote share %: 47.9
    • Vote share change: +2.0
  2. Labour
    David Drew
    • Votes: 27,742
    • Vote share %: 42.1
    • Vote share change: -4.9
  3. Green
    Molly Scott Cato
    • Votes: 4,954
    • Vote share %: 7.5
    • Vote share change: +5.3
  4. The Brexit Party
    Desi Latimer
    • Votes: 1,085
    • Vote share %: 1.6
    • Vote share change: +1.6
  5. Libertarian
    Glenville Gogerly
    • Votes: 567
    • Vote share %: 0.9
    • Vote share change: +0.9

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 3,840
  • Registered voters: 84,536
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: +1.0

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 47.9%
Labour 42.1%
Green 7.5%
The Brexit Party 1.6%
Libertarian 0.9%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Green +5.3 Gained
  • Conservative +2.0 Gained
  • The Brexit Party +1.6 Gained
  • Libertarian +0.9 Gained
  • Labour -4.9 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Stroud: Conservatives gain seat from Labour

Conservative Siobhan Baillie has ousted Labour's David Drew to become MP for Stroud, winning the seat by 3,840 votes.

The Conservative Party overturned a 687 vote majority to the win the swing seat back from Labour.

Molly Scott Cato of the Green Party came third and the Brexit Party's Desi Latimer came fourth.

Voter turnout was up by 1 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 66,000 people, 78% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Two of the five candidates, Ms Latimer and Glenville Gogerly (Libertarian) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

'I think it's pretty childish': Green's Cato responds to criticisms

Sharon Alcock

BBC News

Molly Cato and her team
Molly Scott Cato (centre-front) gained 4,954 votes - 1,114 more than the majority the new Conservative MP gained over Labour.

"I think it's pretty childish of a party that aims to be a party of government, not taking responsibility for its own failures," Molly Scott Cato says, in reply to local Labour criticism for her decision not to withdraw.

The Conservatives have gained the seat from Labour, with a majority for Siobhan Baillie of 3,840 votes.

Gloucestershire County Council Labour leader, Lesley Williams, on hearing the result, told the BBC: "I am extremely disappointed. If the Greens really did care about not returning a Conservative government... then they wouldn't have have stood."

"The poll for David [Drew] and Molly [Scott Cato] together would have given David the win. I despair of what I am seeing in the country at the moment."

But the Green candidate and current MEP for the South West, Cato, says "the people who voted for me would never have voted for Labour because they were voting for me precisely because they didn't want to vote for Jeremy Corbyn's party, or because they didn't want to visit for Johnson's Tories."

"I hope that the good thing to come out of this will be that Labour will learn that they too have to campaign for a fairer system."

Lesley Williams (right)
Lesley Williams (right) is "furious" at what she is seeing across the country tonight

Conservatives win Stroud from Labour

Sharon Alcock

BBC News

Siobhan Baillie

The Conservatives have gained the previously Labour-held seat of Stroud, where turnout was 78.2%.

New Conservative candidate Siobhan Baillie gained 31,582 votes. The outgoing MP David Drew had 27,742 this time.

He had previously had a majority of 687 at the 2017 election.

It had been thought that votes for the Green candidate, MEP Molly Scott Cato, could split the vote in this home of the climate-action campaign group Extinction Rebellion. She gained just 4,954 votes.

Desi Latimer of the Brexit Party and Glenville Gogerly, Libertarian Party, received 1,085 and 567 votes respectively.

Mrs Baillie is the first elected female MP in the history of the Stroud constituency.

BreakingStroud: Con gain

The Conservatives have taken Stroud from the Labour party with Siobhan Baillie.

David Drew had served as the Member of Parliament for Stroud from 1997 to 2010, and regained the seat on 9 June 2017.

Rumours of 'huge loss' for Labour in Stroud

Count observers and labour campaigners, with supportive arm around David Drew

Labour campaigners are here seen appearing to console David Drew, the Labour MP since 2017.

He has told reporters at the Stroud count, he is "still no clearer.”

Meanwhile the Labour candidate in Cheltenham has told our reporter they’re predicting a huge loss for Mr Drew.

David Drew talks with his labour campaigners

Scenes from Stroud, where counting continues

Count observers in sports hall
It's looking like the political direction will change in Stroud, if exit polls are correct
Identity passes
"Election staff have been working ten and eleven hour days to get ready for tonight. We're always ready for an election, but this six-week turnaround has been tough. Many of the counting staff here will have worked for the council today and then through the night counting." Stroud District Council spokesman
Labour paraphernalia