UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Staffordshire Moorlands

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Karen Bradley
    • Votes: 28,192
    • Vote share %: 64.6
    • Vote share change: +6.4
  2. Labour
    Darren Price
    • Votes: 11,764
    • Vote share %: 26.9
    • Vote share change: -6.9
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Andrew Gant
    • Votes: 2,469
    • Vote share %: 5.7
    • Vote share change: +2.3
  4. Green
    Douglas Rouxel
    • Votes: 1,231
    • Vote share %: 2.8
    • Vote share change: +1.6

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 16,428
  • Registered voters: 65,485
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -3.9

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 64.6%
Labour 26.9%
Liberal Democrat 5.7%
Green 2.8%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Conservative +6.4 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat +2.3 Gained
  • Green +1.6 Gained
  • Labour -6.9 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Staffordshire Moorlands: Conservative hold

Karen Bradley has been re-elected as the MP for Staffordshire Moorlands, with an increased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Labour's Darren Price by 16,428 votes, 5,598 more votes than the majority at the 2017 election.

Andrew Gant of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Green Party's Douglas Rouxel came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 3.9 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 44,000 people, roughly two-thirds of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

One of the four candidates, Douglas Rouxel (Green) lost his £500 deposit after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingResult: Conservative hold in Staffordshire Moorlands

Karen Bradley has been re-elected as the Conservative MP for the Staffordshire Moorlands, increasing her majority from 10,830 in 2017 to 16,428.

The seat has been held by the Conservatives since Ms Bradley was first elected in 2010.

MPs revealed as still hiring relatives

BBC Politics

Two Staffordshire MPs are among more than 100 revealed to be continuing to employ a member of their family using taxpayers' money, despite the practice being banned for new members of Parliament.

Of the 589 returning MPs, 122 have declared the employment of a relative in the latest Register of Members' Financial Interests.

House of Commons

Of Staffordshire's MPs, Stone's Bill Cash declared he still employs his wife, while the Staffordshire Moorlands MP Karen Bradley said she employed her husband as office manager until October 2016.

None of the 61 new MPs who secured their seats at the general election on 8 June are allowed to do so.

Campaigners say there needs to be a clear end date for all MPs.

'Cheers echoed' and a 'clockwork' election - local newspaper reaction

Allen Cook

BBC Local Live

The local elections are still the main talking point for our local newspapers.

The Tamworth Herald says "cheers bounded and echoed" through a sports hall as Christopher Pincher held his Tamworth seat.

Christopher Pincher after securing Tamworth
Tamworth Herald

While the Leek Post and Times reported that Karen Bradley was "honoured" to increase her majority in the Staffordshire Moorlands.

And the Burton Mail says Conservative Andrew Griffiths thanked the council for making the election "run like clockwork" after he held onto his seat.

Re-elected Conservative MP defends her election campaign

Ros Chimes

Reporter, BBC Radio Stoke

The winning Conservative candidate in the Staffordshire Moorlands, Karen Bradley, has defended her election campaign.

Karen Bradley

She increased her share of the vote by 7% with a majority of 10,830 over the Labour candidate Dave Jones.

However, she had faced criticism during the campaign for not taking part in any of the hustings.

I was clear right at the beginning of the campaign that I wouldn't do any of the hustings. It's a very short campaign, we didn't know it was coming and there's lot you have to do in a campaign."

Karen BradleyRe-elected Staffordshire Moorlands Conservative MP