UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Theo Clarke
    • Votes: 29,992
    • Vote share %: 58.6
    • Vote share change: +3.9
  2. Labour
    Joyce Still
    • Votes: 15,615
    • Vote share %: 30.5
    • Vote share change: -9.3
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Alex Wagner
    • Votes: 3,175
    • Vote share %: 6.2
    • Vote share change: +3.2
  4. Green
    Emma Carter
    • Votes: 2,367
    • Vote share %: 4.6
    • Vote share change: +2.2

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 14,377
  • Registered voters: 72,572
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -5.4

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 58.6%
Labour 30.5%
Liberal Democrat 6.2%
Green 4.6%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Conservative +3.9 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat +3.2 Gained
  • Green +2.2 Gained
  • Labour -9.3 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

PMQs: Stafford's A&E 'staying open' - prime minister

BBC Politics

The prime minister has said there are no plans to close the accident and emergency unit at Stafford's County Hospital.

A&E in Stafford

Boris Johnson was asked a question by the town's Conservative MP, Theo Clarke, during Prime Minister's Questions today.

"It is clear that the A&E at County Hospital is a vital local service. Does the prime minister agree with me that A&E units at medium-sized hospitals like County are essential for the future delivery of care in our NHS?"

Mr Johnson replied: "The health secretary has just told me that yes, her A&E is certainly staying open."

The A&E at Stafford's County Hospital only operates from 08:00 to 22:00, having been closed overnight since December 2011 due to recruitment issues.

Stafford: Conservative hold

Theo Clarke has been elected MP for Stafford, meaning that the Conservative Party holds the seat with an increased majority.

The new MP beat Labour's Joyce Still by 14,377 votes. This was nearly twice Jeremy Lefroy’s 7,729 vote majority in the 2017 general election.

Alex Wagner of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Green Party's Emma Carter came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 5.4 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 51,000 people, 70.5% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

One of the four candidates, Emma Carter (Green) lost her £500 deposit after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingResult: Conservative hold in Stafford

The Conservatives have maintained a majority in Stafford with a new MP, Theo Clarke.

Ms Clarke, who is replacing Jeremy Lefroy who has represented the town since 2010, secured a majority of 14,377 votes - nearly double 2017's majority of 14,377.

Theo Clarke

Tahnie Martin inquest continues for second day

It is the second day of the inquest into a Stafford woman killed during Storm Doris.

Tahnie Martin, who was 29, was hit by a section of water tank cover which fell from the roof of a six-storey building in Wolverhampton city centre during high winds in February.

Tahnie Martin

Ms Martin, who worked at the University of Wolverhampton, suffered serious head injuries and died at the scene.

Stafford: Conservative hold

Election Graphic

BreakingStafford: Conservative hold

We've not seen many seats changed hands so far and Stafford is the latest constituency to be held by the Conservatives.

Jeremy Lefroy has seen his majority fall from 9,177 at the last election to 7,729.

General election: Candidates standing in Staffordshire

Last night the deadline closed for candidates hoping to win your vote at the general election on 8 June. Here's the full list of who's standing in Stafford, Stone, Staffordshire Moorlands, Tamworth and Cannock:


  • Jeremy Lefroy (Conservatives)
  • Tony Pearce (Greens)
  • Christine Tinker (Liberal Democrats)
  • David Williams (Labour)


  • Bill Cash (Conservatives)
  • Sam Hale (Labour)
  • Martin Lewis (Liberal Democrats)
  • Samantha Pancheri (Greens)
  • Edward Whitfield (UKIP)

Staffordshire Moorlands

  • Karen Bradley (Conservatives)
  • Henry Jebb (Liberal Democrats)
  • Dave Jones (Labour)
  • Nicholas Sheldon
  • Mike Shone (Greens)


  • Andrew Hammond (Labour)
  • Christopher Pincher (Conservatives)
  • Jenny Pinkett (Liberal Democrats)


  • Paul Gregory (UKIP)
  • Paul Dadge (Labour)
  • Nat Green (Liberal Democrats)
  • Amanda Milling (Conservatives)
  • Paul Woodhead (Greens)

General election 2017: How do I register to vote?

Don't get left outside on polling day. Here are details of what you need and where you need to go to register for the general election on 8 June:

The deadline to register is 22 May