UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 318 262 35 12 10 13
Change −13 +30 −21 +4 +2 −2
UK Results

After 650 of 650 seats

Cornwall South East

Parliamentary constituency


General Election 2017 results
Party Votes % Net percentage change in seats



Sheryll Murray Votes 29,493 header_vote_share 55.4 Net percentage change in seats +4.9



Gareth Derrick Votes 12,050 header_vote_share 22.6 Net percentage change in seats +13.3


Liberal Democrat

Phil Hutty Votes 10,346 header_vote_share 19.4 Net percentage change in seats +2.6


Green Party

Martin Corney Votes 1,335 header_vote_share 2.5 Net percentage change in seats -2.9

Turnout and CON majority

CON majority




Vote share

Party %
Conservative 55.4
Labour 22.6
Liberal Democrat 19.4
Green Party 2.5

Vote share change since 2015

Liberal Democrat
Green Party

Latest updates

MP labels lifeboats self-launch petition 'irresponsible'

South East Cornwall Sheryll Murray has labelled organisers of a petition in Plymouth which calls for the right for lifeboats to self-launch instead of receiving requests from coastguards as "irresponsible".

Speaking at Prime Minister's Questions, Conservative Mrs Murray said the petition called for lifeboats to be launched immediately if fishing boats were overdue.

She said such a move would put "valiant lifeboats crews in peril if they don't know where they're going" because they mightn't have any location information in advance.

Mrs Murray added that she wanted small fishing vessels to have locator beacons and called on Prime Minister Theresa May to make grants available for such equipment.

View more on twitter

Parties trade blows ahead of debate on election abuse

BBC Radio Cornwall

Labour has accused the Conservatives of putting "vitriolic personal attacks" at the heart of their election campaign.


Ahead of a Westminster debate on the abuse faced by MPs, Labour claimed the Tories had run a "negative, nasty campaign" targeting shadow home secretary Diane Abbott in particular.

It comes after Theresa May suggested Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn had not done enough to condemn abuse. The PM has called for parties to unite against "bullying and harassment".

Since last month's general election, attention has focused on abuse suffered by MPs from across the political spectrum, including Cornwall Tory MP Sheryll Murray (pictured) who said she had faced social media comments like "burn the witch".

VIDEO: MP Sheryll Murray reveals online abuse and 'burn the witch' calls during PMQs

The Daily Politics

View more on twitter

Tory Cornish MP Sheryll Murray has revealed during Prime Minister's Questions that she became a victim of intimidation and online abuse, with social media users urging people to "burn the witch".

"Hardly kinder, gentler politics," she said.

MP Sheryll Murray 'victim of 'burn the witch' abuse'

BBC Politics

A Cornish MP has revealed she became a victim of intimidation and online abuse, with social media users urging people to "burn the witch".

Sheryll Murray

During Prime Minister's Questions Sheryll Murray, the Tory MP for South East Cornwall, said the bullying happened during the election campaign.

She said: "Over the past months, I've had swastikas carved into posters, social media posts like 'burn the witch', people putting Labour Party leaflets on my home, photographed them and pushed them through my letterbox. Someone even urinated on my office door.

"Hardly kinder, gentler politics."

Prime Minister Theresa May said Mrs Murray was not the only MP who had suffered in this way.

Tories win easily in South East Cornwall

Johnny O'Shea

BBC News Online

Conservative Sheryll Murray achieved a massive 55.4% share in South East Cornwall, convincingly retaining her seat in Westminster.

Labour came second with a 13.3% increase in share from 2015, beating the Lib Dems into third.

Mrs Murray has a majority of 17,443, up by 448 last time.


Cornwall South East: Conservative hold

Result graphic

Parliamentary candidate's posters defaced with swastikas

Andrew Segal

Local Live

Sheryll Murray poster with swastikas
Sheryll Murray

Posters for South East Cornwall Conservative parliamentary candidate Sheryll Murray have been defaced with swastikas.

A photograph from Ms Murray's office shows the symbol cut out twice on one poster.

Ms Murray said she was "sickened" by the attack, which she said was highly offensive to the Jewish community.

Other candidates standing in the constituency include: Martin Corney for the Green Party, Gareth Derrick for Labour and Liberal Democrat Phil Hutty.

General election 2017: How do I register to vote?

Don't get left outside on polling day. Here are details of what you need and where you need to go to register for the general election on 8 June:

The deadline to register is 22 May


, with candidate Sheryll Murray
, have the following results:
  • 25,516 total votes taken.
  • 50.5% share of the total vote
  • +5.4% change in share of the votes
Liberal Democrat
, with candidate Phil Hutty
, have the following results:
  • 8,521 total votes taken.
  • 16.9% share of the total vote
  • -21.8% change in share of the votes
, with candidate Bradley Monk
, have the following results:
  • 7,698 total votes taken.
  • 15.2% share of the total vote
  • +9.0% change in share of the votes
, with candidate Declan Lloyd
, have the following results:
  • 4,692 total votes taken.
  • 9.3% share of the total vote
  • +2.2% change in share of the votes
Green Party
, with candidate Martin Corney
, have the following results:
  • 2,718 total votes taken.
  • 5.4% share of the total vote
  • +3.7% change in share of the votes
Mebyon Kernow
, with candidate Andrew Long
, have the following results:
  • 1,003 total votes taken.
  • 2.0% share of the total vote
  • +0.7% change in share of the votes
, with candidate George Trubody
, have the following results:
  • 350 total votes taken.
  • 0.7% share of the total vote
  • +0.7% change in share of the votes

Change compared with 2010

Back to top