UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Dorset South

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Richard Drax
    • Votes: 30,024
    • Vote share %: 58.8
    • Vote share change: +2.7
  2. Labour
    Carralyn Parkes
    • Votes: 12,871
    • Vote share %: 25.2
    • Vote share change: -8.4
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Nick Ireland
    • Votes: 5,432
    • Vote share %: 10.6
    • Vote share change: +4.8
  4. Green
    Jon Orrell
    • Votes: 2,246
    • Vote share %: 4.4
    • Vote share change: 0.0
  5. Independent
    Joseph Green
    • Votes: 485
    • Vote share %: 0.9
    • Vote share change: +0.9

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 17,153
  • Registered voters: 73,809
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -0.9

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 58.8%
Labour 25.2%
Liberal Democrat 10.6%
Green 4.4%
Independent 0.9%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +4.8 Gained
  • Conservative +2.7 Gained
  • Independent +0.9 Gained
  • Green +0.0 Gained
  • Labour -8.4 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Dorset South: Conservative hold

Richard Drax has been re-elected as the MP for Dorset South, with an increased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Labour's Carralyn Parkes by 17,153 votes, 5,458 more votes than the majority at the 2017 election.

Nick Ireland of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Green Party's Jon Orrell came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 1.8 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 51,000 people, 70% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Two of the five candidates, Jon Orrell (Green) and Joseph Green (independent) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

Dorset's solid blue electoral landscape

Tristan Pascoe

BBC Radio Solent political reporter

It’s unlikely there will be any huge electoral surprises in Dorset, with all eight seats held by the Conservatives, and none considered as marginal.

Two constituencies (Christchurch, North Dorset) have Tory majorities of more than 25,000. But it doesn’t mean there won’t be anything of interest to watch for.

Take Christchurch which Sir Christopher Chope has held since 1997. During the last Parliament, was branded a "dinosaur" after blocking bills on upskirting and demale genital mutilation - his own constituency association was split over him being adopted again as the Conservative candidate.

The Lib Dems say Mid Dorset and North Poole (held for them by them Annette Brooke 2001 - 2015) is a key target seat for them.

The national Labour narrative of the NHS has featured locally with many candidates in the Bournemouth Poole Christchurch conurbation opposed to the reorganisation of health services locally and the moving of A&E from Poole to Bournemouth.

There will definitely be at least one new MP in the county though. Sir Oliver Letwin, chief agitator for extending Article 50 and delaying Brexit until No Deal had been ruled out, has stepped down from his West Dorset seat after 22 years.

Boris Johnson’s main message of Get Brexit Done was in many senses preaching to the converted in Dorset - where every single electoral district in the county voted to Leave in the 2016 referendum.

Dorset South: Conservative hold

Election result

Richard Drax all smiles over Dorset South Conservative hold