UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 318 262 35 12 10 13
Change −13 +30 −21 +4 +2 −2
UK Results

After 650 of 650 seats

Derbyshire South

Parliamentary constituency


General Election 2017 results
Party Votes % Net percentage change in seats



Heather Wheeler Votes 30,907 header_vote_share 58.7 Net percentage change in seats +9.3



Robert Pearson Votes 18,937 header_vote_share 36.0 Net percentage change in seats +9.2


Liberal Democrat

Lorraine Johnson Votes 1,870 header_vote_share 3.6 Net percentage change in seats -0.2


Green Party

Marten Kats Votes 917 header_vote_share 1.7 Net percentage change in seats -0.7

Turnout and CON majority

CON majority




Vote share

Party %
Conservative 58.7
Labour 36.0
Liberal Democrat 3.6
Green Party 1.7

Vote share change since 2015

Liberal Democrat
Green Party

Latest updates

'Leavers' vote Tory in General Election

Chris Doidge

BBC Radio Derby, political reporter

Not totally surprising but Derbyshire constituencies which voted most strongly to Leave in 2016 tended to see bigger increases in Conservative vote share last week...


Derbyshire South: Conservative hold

Election Graphic

BreakingSouth Derbyshire: Conservative hold

Chris Doidge

BBC Radio Derby, political reporter

Heather Wheeler has held her Conservative seat in South Derbyshire.

Heather Wheeler

UKIP announce East Midlands general election candidates

Alex Smith

BBC News Online

UKIP has confirmed they will not be putting candidates forward for seats in Mid Derbyshire, Derbyshire Dales, Erewash, Amber Valley, South Derbyshire and High Peak. 

Derby North is the only Derbyshire seat they will contest. Their candidate is Bill Piper.

In Ashfield, Ray Young will stand for the party, while there will be no UKIP candidate for Bassetlaw.

Other Nottinghamshire UKIP candidates we are now aware of include Fran Loi, who will stand in Broxtowe, Lee Waters - who will compete for the Gedling seat - Stephen Crosby, who will stand in Nottingham North, Robert Hall-Palmer, who will stand in Nottingham East, and David Hollis - who will fight for the Nottingham South seat.

In Newark, Xandra Arundel will stand for the party, while Matthew Faithfull and Stuart Bestwick will stand in Rushcliffe and Sherwood respectively.

Further general election candidates for Derbyshire seats revealed

Alex Smith

BBC News Online

More candidates vying for general election seats across Derbyshire have been revealed.

In Amber Valley, Kate Smith will stand for the Liberal Democrats. Two of her confirmed opponents are Conservative Nigel Mills and Labour's James Dawson.

Ross Shipman will stand for the Liberal Democrats in Bolsover. He will stand against UKIP's Philip Rose, Tory Helen Harrison and Labour's Dennis Skinner. 

We told you earlier today that Spencer Pitfield will stand in Chesterfield for the Conservatives. Joining Mr Pitfield will be Labour's Toby Perkins, Dave Wadsworth - from The Green Party - and Tom Snowdon of the Liberal Democrats. 

In Erewash, Martin Garnett from the Liberal Democrats and Green Party member Ralph Hierons will compete with Labour's Catherine Atkinson and Conservative Maggie Throup for the seat.

Charles Lawley, of the Liberal Democrats, has said he will stand in High Peak. Two of his already confirmed opponents will be Tory Andrew Bingham and Labour's Ruth George.

In North East Derbyshire, David Lomax - from the Liberal Democrats - will stand against The Green Party's Dave Kesteven, as well as Labour Party member Natascha Engel and Tory Lee Rowley. 

Liberal Democrat Andrew Hollyer will stand in Derbyshire Dales, as will Matt Buckler from The Green Party. Tory Patrick McLoughlin and Labour's Andy Botham will also fight for the seat. 

And in South Derbyshire, Tory Heather Wheeler will face Labour's Robert Pearson, Lorraine Johnson, from the Liberal Democrats, and Green Party member Marten Kats. 

General election candidate makes Derby North switch

Chris Doidge

BBC Radio Derby, political reporter

Bill Piper - previously announced as UKIP candidate in South Derbyshire - is now standing in Derby North.  

General election: More Derbyshire candidates announced

Chris Doidge

BBC Radio Derby political reporter

Meanwhile, in Derbyshire, UKIP's Philip Rose will be contesting Bolsover, held by Dennis Skinner (pictured) since 1970.

Dennis Skinner

It has also been announced that Labour's Toby Perkins will be defending his Chesterfield seat.

In Derby South, Labour's Margaret Beckett will go up against Liberal Democrat Joe Naitta again, just as she did in 2015

In Derbyshire Dales, Patrick McLoughlin will look to hold the seat for the Conservatives against his 2015 general election opponent, Labour's Andy Botham. 

Maggie Throup is also vying to retain Erewash for the Tories. Labour's Catherine Atkinson will be one candidate contesting the seat. 

In High Peak, Conservative Andrew Bingham hopes to be re-elected while Labour's Ruth George is running against him. In North East Derbyshire, Labour's Natascha Engel will look to keep her seat.

Tory Heather Wheeler and Labour's Robert Pearson have been confirmed as two of the candidates who will fight for the South Derbyshire constituency, while Labour's Sean Sheahan will be just one candidate looking to unseat Conservative Andrew Bridgen in North West Leicestershire.  

We expect many more candidates will announce their intention to run and we will bring the news as we hear it.



, with candidate Heather Wheeler
, have the following results:
  • 25,066 total votes taken.
  • 49.4% share of the total vote
  • +3.9% change in share of the votes
, with candidate Cheryl Pidgeon
, have the following results:
  • 13,595 total votes taken.
  • 26.8% share of the total vote
  • -4.6% change in share of the votes
, with candidate Alan Graves
, have the following results:
  • 8,998 total votes taken.
  • 17.7% share of the total vote
  • +15.3% change in share of the votes
Liberal Democrat
, with candidate Lorraine Johnson
, have the following results:
  • 1,887 total votes taken.
  • 3.7% share of the total vote
  • -12.2% change in share of the votes
Green Party
, with candidate Marianne Bamkin
, have the following results:
  • 1,216 total votes taken.
  • 2.4% share of the total vote
  • +2.4% change in share of the votes

Change compared with 2010

Back to top