UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Basildon South & Thurrock East

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Stephen Metcalfe
    • Votes: 29,973
    • Vote share %: 66.2
    • Vote share change: +9.3
  2. Labour
    Jack Ferguson
    • Votes: 10,051
    • Vote share %: 22.2
    • Vote share change: -10.3
  3. Independent
    Kerry Smith
    • Votes: 3,316
    • Vote share %: 7.3
    • Vote share change: +7.3
  4. Liberal Democrat
    Michael Bukola
    • Votes: 1,957
    • Vote share %: 4.3
    • Vote share change: +2.8

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 19,922
  • Registered voters: 74,441
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -3.2

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 66.2%
Labour 22.2%
Independent 7.3%
Liberal Democrat 4.3%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Conservative +9.3 Gained
  • Independent +7.3 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat +2.8 Gained
  • Labour -10.3 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Turnouts in Essex

Here are the final turnout figures for the Essex constituencies:

Basildon and Billericay 63.1% (65% in 2017)

Braintree 67.1% (69.5% in 2017)

Brentwood and Ongar 70.4% (70.5% in 2017)

Castle Point 63.6% (64.4% in 2017)

Chelmsford 71% (70.2% in 2017)

Clacton 61.3% (64.4% in 2017)

Colchester 64.4% (66.9% in 2017)

Epping Forest 68% (68% in 2017)

Harlow 63.7% (66.2% in 2017)

Harwich and North Essex 70.5% (71.1% in 2017)

Maldon 69.4% (70.2% in 2017)

Rayleigh and Wickford 69.5% (70.4% in 2017)

Rochford and Southend East 61.25% (64.3% in 2017)

Saffron Walden 72.5% (73.3% in 2017)

South Basildon and Thurrock East 60.8% (64.1% in 2017)

Southend West 67.8% (64.4% in 2017)

Thurrock 59.6% (64.4% in 2017)

Witham 70.1% (71.2% in 2017)

Basildon South & Thurrock East: Conservative hold

Stephen Metcalfe has been re-elected as the MP for Basildon South & Thurrock East, with an increased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Labour's Jack Ferguson by 19,922 votes, 8,432 more votes than the majority at the 2017 election.

Kerry Smith, an independent candidate, came third and Liberal Democrat Michael Bukola came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 3.2 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 45,000 people, 60.8% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

One of the four candidates, Michael Bukola (Liberal Democrat) lost his £500 deposit after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingSouth Basildon and Thurrock East: Conservative hold

Stephen Metcalfe retains the seat he has held since 2010 with a majority of nearly 20,000.

He said: "I am delighted to have been reelected. I think representing a constituency which voted overwhelmingly to leave the European Union, with 73% did so, and this being really a Brexit election. I think it has been a reaffirmation of the referendum result back in 2016 and we were the only party which had a clear policy that if we got a working majority government we would pass a deal to leave the EU."

Stephen Metcalfe

Analysis: The bellwether county that's now Tory stronghold

Simon Dedman

BBC Essex political reporter

For years all eyes had been on Essex. How the home of “Mondeo man”, “Essex Man” and the bellwether - that was once Basildon - votes, was seen as the key to winning a majority and the keys to 10 Downing Street.

Geograph/Robin Lucas

But not in 2019. The focus on the Midlands and the North has born a new target voter: “Workington Man” and with frankly a lack of interest and a lack of high profile politicians coming to the county to campaign.

Granted the three main party leaders have been here – but other than Jeremy Corbyn (pictured below) only once.

Jeremy Corbyn

The Conservatives are confident of keeping all 18 seats here and that their majorities will go up in most. Thurrock is the most marginal seat, the Tories won by just 243 votes in 2017.

While one veteran Labour campaigner told me it is still close there, the Tories say they have been getting their best response on the ground.

Chelmsford (pictured top) was the shock of the summer when the Lib Dems surged from holding five council seats to winning 31 and taking the county’s city from the Tories in the local elections.

They have been campaigning hard with one resident showing me they received eight pieces of literature through their door in a week.

But the Conservatives are defending a decent 13,572 majority here, even with the Greens standing aside to help the Lib Dems in the remain alliance it’s a tall ask. One Tory said if they lost here they would be in big trouble.

New £50k project to overhaul Basildon's image
The Breakthrough Basildon Commission has been launched in Parliament, with a budget of £50,000.

Basildon South: Conservative hold

Result graphic

South Basildon & East Thurrock held by Conservatives

Richard Smith

BBC Essex

We've got some more information about the numbers of votes cast in South Basildon & East Thurrock.

Conservative Stephen Metcalfe held the seat with 26,811 votes. Labour came second with 15,321, and UKIP was third with 3,193.

That represents an increase in votes for the Conservatives and Labour, but UKIP's share dropped dramatically, from more than 12,000 in 2015 to the level seen today.

BreakingConservatives hold South Basildon & East Thurrock

Conservative Stephen Metcalfe has held the seat of South Basildon & East Thurrock. We'll bring you the voting numbers shortly.