UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Mark Spencer
    • Votes: 32,049
    • Vote share %: 60.8
    • Vote share change: +9.3
  2. Labour
    Jerry Hague
    • Votes: 15,863
    • Vote share %: 30.1
    • Vote share change: -11.7
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Timothy Ball
    • Votes: 2,883
    • Vote share %: 5.5
    • Vote share change: +3.4
  4. Green
    Esther Cropper
    • Votes: 1,214
    • Vote share %: 2.3
    • Vote share change: +1.1
  5. Independent
    Simon Rood
    • Votes: 700
    • Vote share %: 1.3
    • Vote share change: +1.3

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 16,186
  • Registered voters: 77,948
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -2.4

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 60.8%
Labour 30.1%
Liberal Democrat 5.5%
Green 2.3%
Independent 1.3%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Conservative +9.3 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat +3.4 Gained
  • Independent +1.3 Gained
  • Green +1.1 Gained
  • Labour -11.7 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Sherwood: Conservative hold

Chief Whip Mark Spencer has been re-elected as the MP for Sherwood, with an increased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Labour's Jerry Hague by 16,186 votes, more than double the majority at the 2017 election.

Timothy Ball of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Green Party's Esther Cropper came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 2.4 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 53,000 people, roughly two-thirds of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Two of the five candidates, Esther Cropper (Green) and Simon Rood (independent) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

Red wall collapses

Tony Roe

BBC East Midlands political editor

The East Midlands political map now looks very different to the way it did when Labour were last in government in 2010.

It’s now a region where Labour seats are confined to the cities and everywhere else is Conservative.

Since 2010 Labour has lost every town they represented in Parliament with the exception of Chesterfield. Those seats in the former industrial areas, dubbed the red wall, have actually been collapsing since 2010.

Seats like North West Leicestershire, Sherwood and Amber Valley have now built substantial safe majorities for the Tories.

And Mansfield, which narrowly went blue for the first time in the 2017 election now has a majority of 16,000. Mansfield is a safe Conservative seat. Let that sink in. Bolsover, Bassetlaw and Ashfield are now Conservative seats.


Labour 'needs to find election candidates early'

Calum McKenzie

BBC Local Live

Labour should install general election candidates as soon as possible in seats that they are targeting, a Nottingham city councillor has said.

Red rosette
Getty Images

The party are said to be looking at overturning Conservative majorities in a number of seats across Nottinghamshire, including Broxtowe (863 majority), Sherwood (5,198) and Rushcliffe (8,010).

Councillor Steve Battlemuch, who represents Wollaton, said: "When you have got a candidate in place you have got some name recognition.

"You can go out and say that this person is challenging for the seat."

The smallest majority in Nottinghamshire is Labour-held Ashfield, won by Gloria De Piero by 441 votes from the Conservatives.

East Midlands MPs at PMQs

Tony Roe

BBC East Midlands political editor

In the House of Commons for Prime Minister's Questions today...

  • Labour MP for Nottingham East, Chris Leslie, and Tory MP for Erewash, Maggie Throup spoke on voter registration
  • Nottingham North's Labour MP, Alex Norris, asked for police to have resources to tackle cyber security
  • Sherwood's Conservative MP, Mark Spencer, had a good bellow and point at the Labour benches
  • Bolsover's Labour MP, Dennis Skinner, was up and down in a sprightly manner eager to get in
  • Meanwhile Conserrvative MP for Broxtowe, Anna Soubry, came to the defence of tuition fees, saying more working class and poor young people are going to university

Sherwood: Conservative Hold

Election Graphic

BreakingSherwood: Conservative hold

Amy Woodfield

BBC Local Live

Mark Spencer has held onto his Conservative seat in Sherwood with 5,198 votes.

Labour were the runner up.

Sherwood candidate holding out for beer

Sandish Shoker

BBC Radio Nottingham

Labour's Mike Pringle said he is "excited and nervous" to find out the Sherwood result.

Mike Pringle

He said it's been a "powerful campaign in a short space of time" with the NHS and education being the big talking point for people in the constituency. In case anyone wanted to know.... he is holding out throughout the night without a single snack. He's got a beer waiting for him for him afterwards instead.

UKIP announce East Midlands general election candidates

Alex Smith

BBC News Online

UKIP has confirmed they will not be putting candidates forward for seats in Mid Derbyshire, Derbyshire Dales, Erewash, Amber Valley, South Derbyshire and High Peak. 

Derby North is the only Derbyshire seat they will contest. Their candidate is Bill Piper.

In Ashfield, Ray Young will stand for the party, while there will be no UKIP candidate for Bassetlaw.

Other Nottinghamshire UKIP candidates we are now aware of include Fran Loi, who will stand in Broxtowe, Lee Waters - who will compete for the Gedling seat - Stephen Crosby, who will stand in Nottingham North, Robert Hall-Palmer, who will stand in Nottingham East, and David Hollis - who will fight for the Nottingham South seat.

In Newark, Xandra Arundel will stand for the party, while Matthew Faithfull and Stuart Bestwick will stand in Rushcliffe and Sherwood respectively.

More Nottinghamshire general election candidates announced

Peter Saull

BBC Radio Nottingham Political Reporter

In the Nottingham East constituency, Labour's Chris Leslie holds a majority of 11,894. Barry Holliday, of the Liberal Democrats, will be one candidate vying for the seat. 

Another Liberal Democrat, Tad Jones, has confirmed he will stand for the Nottingham North constituency. One of his rivals will be Labour's Alex Norris, who recently replaced Graham Allen

In Nottingham South, Liberal Democrat Tony Sutton and UKIP's David Hollas will compete for the seat. Labour's Lilian Greenwood and Tory Jane Hunt will also stand.

Conservative Robert Jenrick (below) will look to hold on to his 18,474 majority against Liberal Democrat David Watts and Labour's Chantal Lee. 

Robert Jenrick

In Rushcliffe, Labour's David Mellen is standing again against Ken Clarke. He also stood in 2015. Joining the pair will be Liberal Democrat Jayne Phoenix. 

Finally, in Sherwood, Becky Thomas - for the Liberal Democrats - and Labour's Mike Pringle have been confirmed as candidates for the seat alongside Tory Mark Spencer.