UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Sefton Central

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Labour
    Bill Esterson
    • Votes: 29,254
    • Vote share %: 57.5
    • Vote share change: -5.5
  2. Conservative
    Wazz Mughal
    • Votes: 14,132
    • Vote share %: 27.8
    • Vote share change: -5.3
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Keith Cawdron
    • Votes: 3,386
    • Vote share %: 6.7
    • Vote share change: +4.0
  4. The Brexit Party
    Paul Lomas
    • Votes: 2,425
    • Vote share %: 4.8
    • Vote share change: +4.8
  5. Green
    Alison Gibbon
    • Votes: 1,261
    • Vote share %: 2.5
    • Vote share change: +1.2
  6. Liberal Party
    Angela Preston
    • Votes: 285
    • Vote share %: 0.6
    • Vote share change: +0.6
  7. Renew
    Carla Burns
    • Votes: 137
    • Vote share %: 0.3
    • Vote share change: +0.3

Change compared with 2017


  • LAB majority: 15,122
  • Registered voters: 69,760
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -2.5

Vote share

Party % share
Labour 57.5%
Conservative 27.8%
Liberal Democrat 6.7%
The Brexit Party 4.8%
Green 2.5%
Liberal Party 0.6%

Vote share change since 2017

  • The Brexit Party +4.8 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat +4.0 Gained
  • Green +1.2 Gained
  • Liberal Party +0.6 Gained
  • Conservative -5.3 Lost
  • Labour -5.5 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Merseyside bucks national trend with Labour wins

Merseyside has bucked the national trend with Labour holding 14 out of the 15 seats in the area.

Despite the Conservatives gaining in many Labour heartlands, seats including Birkenhead, Bootle, Knowsley and Sefton Central have remained red.

Veteran MP Frank Field, who stood as an independent candidate after quitting Labour in the party's over an alleged rise in anti-Semitism", lost his seat after 40 years as an MP.

Maria Eagle celebrates her win in Garston and Halewood

Sefton Central: Labour hold

Labour's Bill Esterson has been re-elected as the MP for Sefton Central, with a decreased majority.

The Labour incumbent beat Conservative Wazz Mughal by 15,122 votes, 496 votes less than the majority at the 2017 election.

Keith Cawdron of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Brexit Party's Paul Lomas came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 2.5 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 51,000 people, roughly three-quarters of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Four of the seven candidates, Mr Lomas, Alison Gibbon (Green), Angela Preston (Liberal Party) and Carla Burns (Renew) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

RESULT: Labour holds Sefton Central

Labour's Bill Esterson has been re-elected as the MP for Sefton Central.

Under starter's orders at Aintree

The venue for the Sefton Central count is looking more like the kind of place you'd go to for your work Christmas do.

That's maybe because it's at Aintree Racecourse. There are seven runners and riders in the night's big race by the way... the result is expected 02:00.

View more on twitter

Sefton Central: Labour hold

Result graphic

Sefton Central: Labour hold

Labour's Bill Esterson has held on to the Sefton Central seat, with Conservatives coming second.

General election 2017: How do I register to vote?

Don't get left outside on polling day. Here are details of what you need and where you need to go to register for the general election on 8 June:  

The deadline to register is 22 May