UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Holly Mumby-Croft
    • Votes: 20,306
    • Vote share %: 53.8
    • Vote share change: +10.3
  2. Labour
    Nic Dakin
    • Votes: 13,855
    • Vote share %: 36.7
    • Vote share change: -15.3
  3. The Brexit Party
    Jerry Gorman
    • Votes: 2,044
    • Vote share %: 5.4
    • Vote share change: +5.4
  4. Liberal Democrat
    Ryk Downes
    • Votes: 875
    • Vote share %: 2.3
    • Vote share change: +0.9
  5. Green
    Peter Dennington
    • Votes: 670
    • Vote share %: 1.8
    • Vote share change: +1.8

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 6,451
  • Registered voters: 61,955
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -4.4

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 53.8%
Labour 36.7%
The Brexit Party 5.4%
Liberal Democrat 2.3%
Green 1.8%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Conservative +10.3 Gained
  • The Brexit Party +5.4 Gained
  • Green +1.8 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat +0.9 Gained
  • Labour -15.3 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Yorkshire and Lincolnshire: The winners and losers

With the full results now in from across Yorkshire and Lincolnshire, the big winner in the region is the Conservative party, just as it has been across the country.

PA/Hannah McKay

In total, Boris Johnson's party has gained 10 seats in the region from Labour.

They are:

  • Colne Valley
  • Dewsbury
  • Don Valley
  • Great Grimsby
  • Keighley
  • Penistone and Stocksbridge
  • Rother Valley
  • Scunthorpe
  • Wakefield
  • Lincoln

Analysis: 'Lincolnshire is a sea of blue'

Tim Iredale

Political Editor, BBC Yorkshire and Lincolnshire

The political map of Lincolnshire from the Humber to the Wash is now a sea of blue.

Celebrations in Grimsby

Conservative gains in Great Grimsby and Scunthorpe were predicted by some opinion polls over the course of the campaign.

But as Labour’s “red wall” began to crumble during the night, it soon became clear history was in the making.

Labour’s dominance in Grimsby began 74 years ago when Clement Attlee was Prime Minister.

And although a previous version of the Scunthorpe constituency had been held by the Tories in the Thatcher era - the steel town felt like safe Labour territory in recent years.

The newly-elected Conservative MPs know their first priority will be to deliver Brexit.

In the leave-voting towns of Northern Lincolnshire, failure is not an option.

Scunthorpe MP: 'Huge honour' to take seat at Westminster

Scunthorpe's new Conservative MP Holly Mumby-Croft says "It's a huge honour, it's a huge job".


Ms Mumby-Croft beat Labour's Nic Dakin by 6,451 votes.

First of all, what I want to do which is really really important is repair the damaged relationship many people have with their elected representatives...and that is to go to Westminster and vote to deliver Brexit."

Holly Mumby-CroftScunthorpe's new Conservative MP

Nic Dakin 'Lack of confidence in Corbyn'

Outgoing Labour MP for Scunthorpe Nic Dakin has said there was a lack of belief in Jeremy Corbyn ahead of the election.

election graphic

Mr Dakin, who lost his seat to Conservative candidate Holly Mumby-Croft, said: "The message from the doorstep was that people did not have the level of confidence in Jeremy Corbyn that they would have liked to have."

However, he said relinquishing the role he took up in 2010 would be "a weight off my shoulders".

"This has been a tough job," he said.

"It's been particularly hard in the last four years because of the context in which we've been working."

Yorkshire and Lincolnshire: Winners and losers

All 61 results are now in from across Yorkshire and Lincolnshire and the big winner locally is the Conservative party, just as it has been across the country.

A Conservative rosette
Daniel Leal-Olivas/PA Media

In total, Boris Johnson's party has gained ten seats in the region from Labour.

They are:

  • Colne Valley
  • Dewsbury
  • Don Valley
  • Great Grimsby
  • Keighley
  • Penistone and Stocksbridge
  • Rother Valley
  • Scunthorpe
  • Wakefield
  • Lincoln

A number of ousted Labour candidates, including Caroline Flint and Mary Creagh, blamed the party's failure to listen to people's views on Brexit for their demise.

Holly Mumby-Smith takes Scunthorpe for Conservatives

Holly Mumby-Croft has been elected as the MP for Scunthorpe, beating Labour's Nic Dakin by 6,451 votes.

Holly Mumby-Croft

The Conservative Party overturned a 3,431 vote majority to take the formerly Labour-held seat.

Jerry Gorman of the Brexit Party came third and Liberal Democrat Ryk Downes came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 4.4 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 38,000 people, 60.9% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Two of the five candidates, Ryk Downes (Liberal Democrat) and Peter Dennington (Green) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingScunthorpe: Conservative gain

Conservative candidate Holly Mumby-Croft has won Scunthorpe, taking the seat from Labour by 6,451 votes.