UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Saffron Walden

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Kemi Badenoch
    • Votes: 39,714
    • Vote share %: 63.0
    • Vote share change: +1.2
  2. Liberal Democrat
    Mike Hibbs
    • Votes: 12,120
    • Vote share %: 19.2
    • Vote share change: +5.2
  3. Labour
    Thomas Van De Bilt
    • Votes: 8,305
    • Vote share %: 13.2
    • Vote share change: -7.6
  4. Green
    Coby Wing
    • Votes: 2,947
    • Vote share %: 4.7
    • Vote share change: +4.7

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 27,594
  • Registered voters: 87,017
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -0.8

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 63.0%
Liberal Democrat 19.2%
Labour 13.2%
Green 4.7%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +5.2 Gained
  • Green +4.7 Gained
  • Conservative +1.2 Gained
  • Labour -7.6 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Turnouts in Essex

Here are the final turnout figures for the Essex constituencies:

Basildon and Billericay 63.1% (65% in 2017)

Braintree 67.1% (69.5% in 2017)

Brentwood and Ongar 70.4% (70.5% in 2017)

Castle Point 63.6% (64.4% in 2017)

Chelmsford 71% (70.2% in 2017)

Clacton 61.3% (64.4% in 2017)

Colchester 64.4% (66.9% in 2017)

Epping Forest 68% (68% in 2017)

Harlow 63.7% (66.2% in 2017)

Harwich and North Essex 70.5% (71.1% in 2017)

Maldon 69.4% (70.2% in 2017)

Rayleigh and Wickford 69.5% (70.4% in 2017)

Rochford and Southend East 61.25% (64.3% in 2017)

Saffron Walden 72.5% (73.3% in 2017)

South Basildon and Thurrock East 60.8% (64.1% in 2017)

Southend West 67.8% (64.4% in 2017)

Thurrock 59.6% (64.4% in 2017)

Witham 70.1% (71.2% in 2017)

Saffron Walden: Conservative hold

Kemi Badenoch has been re-elected as the MP for Saffron Walden, with an increased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Liberal Democrat Mike Hibbs by 27,594 votes, 2,628 more votes than the majority at the 2017 election.

Thomas Van De Bilt of the Labour Party came third and the Green Party's Coby Wing came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 0.8 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 63,000 people, roughly three-quarters of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

One of the four candidates, Coby Wing (Green) lost her £500 deposit after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingSaffron Walden: Conservative hold

Kemi Badenoch retains the seat.

Kemi Badenoch: 'Theresa May the only serious person in the room'

The new Conservative MP for Saffron Walden has told BBC Essex that Mrs May must continue as prime minister in a period of uncertainty.

Kemi Badenoch

Kemi Badenoch said: "She's still the only serious person in the room and this time last year, we had a prime minister resigning who I really liked and felt should have stayed and just got us through it.

"Having another person going now is not going to be good for the country."

New MP for Saffron Walden will be working on transport issues

New Tory MP Kemi Badenoch won the Saffron Walden seat with 37,629 votes and has pledged her support for the prime minister.

Kemi Badenoch

"She has lots of guts - she has been looking long-term at the problems coming down the line," said Ms Badenoch.

The former head of digital at The Spectator magazine takes over from the constituency's long-serving Conservative MP Sir Alan Haselhurst and said their primary difference was that he fought to remain in Europe, while she backed the campaign to leave.

As a member of the London Assembly - which she will now be standing down from - she has previous experience of working on transport and airport issues.

She told the BBC East TV's Election Special this morning that she will be carrying on her "hard work" on these issues - specifically on Stansted - while looking at the challenges commuters face.

Essex elects: Whose majority is the biggest?

We've been doing a bit of calculating, and have run the numbers on all the votes cast across Essex to find out which of the 18 Conservative MPs has the biggest majority.

The winner was Kemi Badenoch, the new MP for Saffron Walden. She's taken over from Sir Alan Haselhurst, who announced his retirement a few weeks ago after acting as MP for the constituency since 1977. Ms Badenoch was elected with a majority of 24,966.

Kemi Badenoch

Meanwhile, the Essex MP with the smallest majority was Jackie Doyle-Price in Thurrock, where just 345 votes split her with the runner up, Labour's John Kent.

The average majority, in case anyone's interested, was 14,849.

Saffron Walden: Conservative hold

Election graphic