UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Richmond Park

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Liberal Democrat
    Sarah Olney
    • Votes: 34,559
    • Vote share %: 53.1
    • Vote share change: +8.0
  2. Conservative
    Zac Goldsmith
    • Votes: 26,793
    • Vote share %: 41.2
    • Vote share change: -4.0
  3. Labour
    Sandra Keen
    • Votes: 3,407
    • Vote share %: 5.2
    • Vote share change: -3.9
  4. Independent
    Caroline Shah
    • Votes: 247
    • Vote share %: 0.4
    • Vote share change: +0.4
  5. Independent
    John Usher
    • Votes: 61
    • Vote share %: 0.1
    • Vote share change: +0.1

Change compared with 2017


  • LD majority: 7,766
  • Registered voters: 82,696
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -0.5

Vote share

Party % share
Liberal Democrat 53.1%
Conservative 41.2%
Labour 5.2%
Independent 0.4%
Independent 0.1%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +8.0 Gained
  • Independent +0.4 Gained
  • Independent +0.1 Gained
  • Labour -3.9 Lost
  • Conservative -4.0 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Babies, scuffles and premature celebrations. Election night in London.
All of London has now declared its results and the numbers are identical to 2017.

Richmond Park: Liberal Democrat gain

Sarah Olney has been elected as the MP for Richmond Park, beating Conservative Zac Goldsmith by 7,766 votes.

The Liberal Democrats overturned a 45 vote majority to take the formerly Conservative-held seat from Mr Goldsmith, the former London Mayoral candidate.

Sandra Keen of the Labour Party came third and independent candidate Caroline Shah came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 0.5 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 65,000 people, 78.7% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Two of the five candidates, Caroline Shah (independent) and John Usher (independent) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

Conservatives lose Richmond

Zac Goldsmith

Zac Goldsmith has lost his seat in Richmond Park for the second time in three years.

The former London Mayoral candidate won the seat in the 2017 election by just 45 votes - a 0.1% majority.

He’d been out of parliament for six months following a by-election sparked by his decision to leave the Conservative Party in protest at the government's backing of a third Heathrow runway.

Sarah Olney, who beat Mr Goldsmith in the 2016 by-election, won with 34,559.

Mr Goldsmith, who is currently a minister at the Department for Environmental, Food and Rural Affairs got 26,793 votes.

General election 2019 night: What, where, when? Key times to watch out for
What results to look out for, and when, on election night with BBC Electioncast's Adam Fleming.