UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Richmond (Yorks)

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Rishi Sunak
    • Votes: 36,693
    • Vote share %: 63.6
    • Vote share change: -0.4
  2. Labour
    Thom Kirkwood
    • Votes: 9,483
    • Vote share %: 16.4
    • Vote share change: -7.0
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Philip Knowles
    • Votes: 6,989
    • Vote share %: 12.1
    • Vote share change: +6.2
  4. Green
    John Yorke
    • Votes: 2,500
    • Vote share %: 4.3
    • Vote share change: +1.3
  5. The Yorkshire Party
    Laurence Waterhouse
    • Votes: 1,077
    • Vote share %: 1.9
    • Vote share change: -1.8
  6. Independent
    Nick Jardine
    • Votes: 961
    • Vote share %: 1.7
    • Vote share change: +1.7

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 27,210
  • Registered voters: 82,601
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -0.6

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 63.6%
Labour 16.4%
Liberal Democrat 12.1%
Green 4.3%
The Yorkshire Party 1.9%
Independent 1.7%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +6.2 Gained
  • Independent +1.7 Gained
  • Green +1.3 Gained
  • Conservative -0.4 Lost
  • The Yorkshire Party -1.8 Lost
  • Labour -7.0 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Result 'strong endorsement' for Brexit - Richmond MP

The re-elected Conservative MP for Richmond in North Yorkshire says the result of the election is "a strong endorsement of the Prime Minister's agenda for the country".

Rishi Sunak

Rishi Sunak (pictured), who is also Chief Secretary to the Treasury, held his seat by a margin of 27,210 votes.

He says: "It feels good and it's nice to have had a strong vote of confidence.

"People have had a chance to get to know me now over the past four-and-a-bit years since I've been here and hopefully it's some reflection on that.

"Now we can get Brexit done and move on and focus on everything else people want us to."

Richmond (Yorks): Conservative hold

Chief Secretary to the Treasury Rishi Sunak has been re-elected as the MP for Richmond in Yorkshire, with an increased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Labour's Thom Kirkwood by 27,210 votes, 4,102 more votes than the majority at the 2017 election.

Philip Knowles of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Green Party's John Yorke came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 0.6 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 58,000 people, 69.9% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Three of the six candidates, John Yorke (Green), Laurence Waterhouse (The Yorkshire Party) and Nick Jardine (independent) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingRichmond (Yorks): Conservative hold

Chief Secretary to the Treasury and Conservative candidate Rishi Sunak has been re-elected as MP for Richmond (Yorks).

'Deposit losses on the cards for Richmond candidates'

Local Democracy Reporting Service

Half of the candidates standing in Richmond could lose their £500 deposits, according to Local Democracy Reporter Stuart Minting.

View more on twitter

A candidate will fail to recoup their deposit unless they receive at least 5% of the votes cast.

Richmond is considered one of the safest Conservative seats in the country, returning a majority of 23,108 in 2017.

Richmond (Yorks): Conservative hold

Election graphic

BreakingRESULT: Conservative hold Richmond (Yorks)

Rishi Sunak holds Richmond for the Conservative party.

General election 2017: How do I register to vote?

Don't get left outside on polling day. Here are details of what you need and where you need to go to register for the general election on 8 June:  

The deadline to register is 22 May