UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Robert Syms
    • Votes: 29,599
    • Vote share %: 58.7
    • Vote share change: +0.7
  2. Labour
    Sue Aitkenhead
    • Votes: 10,483
    • Vote share %: 20.8
    • Vote share change: -8.7
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Victoria Collins
    • Votes: 7,819
    • Vote share %: 15.5
    • Vote share change: +6.6
  4. Green
    Barry Harding-Rathbone
    • Votes: 1,702
    • Vote share %: 3.4
    • Vote share change: +0.8
  5. Independent
    David Young
    • Votes: 848
    • Vote share %: 1.7
    • Vote share change: +1.7

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 19,116
  • Registered voters: 73,992
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: +0.6

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 58.7%
Labour 20.8%
Liberal Democrat 15.5%
Green 3.4%
Independent 1.7%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +6.6 Gained
  • Independent +1.7 Gained
  • Green +0.8 Gained
  • Conservative +0.7 Gained
  • Labour -8.7 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Poole: Conservative hold

Robert Syms has been re-elected as the MP for Poole, with an increased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Labour's Sue Aitkenhead by 19,116 votes, 4,907 more votes than the majority at the 2017 election.

Victoria Collins of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Green Party's Barry Harding-Rathbone came fourth.

Voter turnout was up by 0.6 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 50,000 people, 68.2% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Two of the five candidates, Barry Harding-Rathbone (Green) and David Young (independent) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingConservatives hold Poole

Robert Syms holds Poole for the Conservatives.

View more on twitter

Dorset's solid blue electoral landscape

Tristan Pascoe

BBC Radio Solent political reporter

It’s unlikely there will be any huge electoral surprises in Dorset, with all eight seats held by the Conservatives, and none considered as marginal.

Two constituencies (Christchurch, North Dorset) have Tory majorities of more than 25,000. But it doesn’t mean there won’t be anything of interest to watch for.

Take Christchurch which Sir Christopher Chope has held since 1997. During the last Parliament, was branded a "dinosaur" after blocking bills on upskirting and demale genital mutilation - his own constituency association was split over him being adopted again as the Conservative candidate.

The Lib Dems say Mid Dorset and North Poole (held for them by them Annette Brooke 2001 - 2015) is a key target seat for them.

The national Labour narrative of the NHS has featured locally with many candidates in the Bournemouth Poole Christchurch conurbation opposed to the reorganisation of health services locally and the moving of A&E from Poole to Bournemouth.

There will definitely be at least one new MP in the county though. Sir Oliver Letwin, chief agitator for extending Article 50 and delaying Brexit until No Deal had been ruled out, has stepped down from his West Dorset seat after 22 years.

Boris Johnson’s main message of Get Brexit Done was in many senses preaching to the converted in Dorset - where every single electoral district in the county voted to Leave in the 2016 referendum.

Poole: Conservative Hold

Election Graphic

Poole inspection

Candidates in Poole inspect the spoilt papers.

Inspection at Poole count