UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Oxford West & Abingdon

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Liberal Democrat
    Layla Moran
    • Votes: 31,340
    • Vote share %: 53.3
    • Vote share change: +9.5
  2. Conservative
    James Fredrickson
    • Votes: 22,397
    • Vote share %: 38.1
    • Vote share change: -4.3
  3. Labour
    Rosie Sourbut
    • Votes: 4,258
    • Vote share %: 7.2
    • Vote share change: -5.4
  4. The Brexit Party
    Allison Wild
    • Votes: 829
    • Vote share %: 1.4
    • Vote share change: +1.4

Change compared with 2017


  • LD majority: 8,943
  • Registered voters: 76,953
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -3.0

Vote share

Party % share
Liberal Democrat 53.3%
Conservative 38.1%
Labour 7.2%
The Brexit Party 1.4%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +9.5 Gained
  • The Brexit Party +1.4 Gained
  • Conservative -4.3 Lost
  • Labour -5.4 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Oxford West & Abingdon: Liberal Democrat hold

Layla Moran has been re-elected as the MP for Oxford West & Abingdon, with a significantly increased majority.

The Liberal Democrat candidate beat Conservative James Fredrickson by 8,943 votes, more than double the majority at the 2017 election.

Rosie Sourbut of the Labour Party came third and the Brexit Party's Allison Wild came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 3 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 59,000 people, roughly three-quarters of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

One of the four candidates, Allison Wild (The Brexit Party) lost her £500 deposit after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingLiberal Democrats hold Oxford West and Abingdon

Layla Moran will return for a second term in the House of Commons after securing a large and comfortable majority of 8,943 compared with 816 in 2017.

On a night which has seen her party leader Jo Swinson lose her seat, Ms Moran will no doubt be questioned over whether she fancies a shot at leadership.

Watch this space.


Exit poll suggests no shocks in Oxfordshire

The exit poll, carried out by Ipsos MORI for the BBC, ITV News and Sky News, suggests the Tories may win 368 seats and Labour 191.

The poll is a way of forecasting what may happen in the general election, after voting ends but before the results are known.

In Oxfordshire, it suggests no seats will change hands tonight, which may not come as a shock given five out of the six constituencies are safe seats.

The poll forecasts Liberal Democrat Layla Moran, will hold her Oxford West and Abingdon seat, after gaining it from the Conservatives in 2017.

Exit poll

Layla Moran 'hopeful' of holding seat

Layla Moran, who is hoping to hold her Oxford West and Abingdon seat, has been speaking to BBC Radio Oxford.

The Liberal Democrat candidate says on a national level the exit poll is "disappointing" but says she is "hopeful in terms of my own seat".

Ms Moran said she had heard from "Remain Conservative voters" on doorsteps saying they had "decided at the last minute" to not vote for the Liberal Democrats because they were "scared of Jeremy Corbyn" winning.

"This election was not who you wanted to vote for, but who you didn't want," she added.

Ones to watch: Oxford West and Abingdon

Layla Moran was elected in 2017 with a majority of just 816 votes in the marginal seat of Oxford West Abingdon.

Prior to the Liberal Democrat winning the seat, Conservative Baroness Nicola Blackwood had held the seat after being elected in 2010.

James Fredrickson is the new Tory candidate for the area, with Rosie Sourbut for Labour, and Alison Wild of the Brexit Party also in the race.

The constituency voted to 62% to Remain in the EU referendum in 2016.

Layla Moran
Layla Moran on the night she won the Oxfordshire seat by 816 votes

Counts begin in Oxfordshire

Radio Oxford's political reporter Bethan Nimmo tweets:

View more on twitter