UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

New Forest West

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Desmond Swayne
    • Votes: 32,113
    • Vote share %: 63.8
    • Vote share change: -3.0
  2. Liberal Democrat
    Jack Davies
    • Votes: 7,710
    • Vote share %: 15.3
    • Vote share change: +5.7
  3. Labour
    Jo Graham
    • Votes: 6,595
    • Vote share %: 13.1
    • Vote share change: -6.5
  4. Green
    Nick Bubb
    • Votes: 3,888
    • Vote share %: 7.7
    • Vote share change: +4.8

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 24,403
  • Registered voters: 70,867
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -1.2

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 63.8%
Liberal Democrat 15.3%
Labour 13.1%
Green 7.7%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +5.7 Gained
  • Green +4.8 Gained
  • Conservative -3.0 Lost
  • Labour -6.5 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

New Forest West: Conservative hold

Desmond Swayne has been re-elected as the MP for New Forest West, with a slightly increased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Liberal Democrat Jack Davies by 24,403 votes, 972 more votes than the majority at the 2017 election.

Jo Graham of the Labour Party came third and the Green Party's Nick Bubb came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 1.2 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 50,000 people, 71% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

All four candidates keep their deposits, after receiving more than 5% of the votes.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingConservatives hold New Forest West

Sir Desmond Swayne has held New Forest West for the Conservatives

View more on twitter

Sir Desmond Swayne 'embarrassed' by Commons snooze

BBC Radio 5 live

Does MP Sir Desmond Swayne nod off in Ken Clarke's speech?

A Tory MP who appeared to fall asleep in the House of Commons has said he is embarrassed and "annoyed" with himself.

Sir Desmond Swayne, who nodded off during a speech by colleague Ken Clarke, said the image of him with his head on his shoulder was "horrible".

In his defence, he told BBC 5 Live he had had a "very long day", having been up swimming in London at 05:30 GMT.

Does MP Sir Desmond Swayne nod off in Ken Clarke's speech?
Sir Desmond Swayne seems very relaxed during his colleague's speech on the EU Withdrawal Bill.

Full Hampshire and Isle of Wight results

  • Aldershot: Conservative, Leo Docherty, 26,955 votes
  • Basingstoke: Conservative, Maria Miller, 29,510 votes
  • Eastleigh: Conservative, Mims Davies, 28,889 votes
  • Fareham: Conservative, Suella Fernandes, 35,915 votes
  • Gosport: Conservative, Caroline Dinenage, 30,647 votes
  • Hampshire East: Conservative, Damian Hinds, 35,263 votes
  • Hampshire North East: Conservative, Ranil Jayawardena, 37,754 votes
  • Hampshire North West: Conservative, Kit Malthouse, 36,471 votes
  • Havant: Conservative, Alan Mak, 27,676 votes
  • Isle of Wight: Conservative, Bob Seely, 38,190 votes
  • Meon Valley: Conservative, George Hollingbery, 35,624 votes
  • New Forest East: Conservative, Julian Lewis, 32,162 votes
  • New Forest West: Conservative, Desmond Swayne, 33,170 votes
  • Portsmouth North: Conservative, Penny Mordaunt, 25,860 votes
  • Portsmouth South: Labour, Stephen Morgan, 18,290 votes
  • Romsey and Southampton North: Conservative, Caroline Nokes, 28,668 votes
  • Southampton Itchen: Conservative, Royston Smith, 21,773 votes
  • Southampton Test: Labour, Alan Whitehead, 27,509 votes
  • Winchester: Conservative, Steve Brine, 29,729 votes

Full England results breakdown here.

New Forest West: Conservative hold

Election result