UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

New Forest East

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Julian Lewis
    • Votes: 32,769
    • Vote share %: 64.5
    • Vote share change: +1.9
  2. Labour
    Julie Hope
    • Votes: 7,518
    • Vote share %: 14.8
    • Vote share change: -5.0
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Bob Johnston
    • Votes: 7,390
    • Vote share %: 14.6
    • Vote share change: -0.6
  4. Green
    Nicola Jolly
    • Votes: 2,434
    • Vote share %: 4.8
    • Vote share change: +2.4
  5. Animal Welfare Party
    Andrew Knight
    • Votes: 675
    • Vote share %: 1.3
    • Vote share change: +1.3

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 25,251
  • Registered voters: 73,552
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -1.7

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 64.5%
Labour 14.8%
Liberal Democrat 14.6%
Green 4.8%
Animal Welfare Party 1.3%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Green +2.4 Gained
  • Conservative +1.9 Gained
  • Animal Welfare Party +1.3 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat -0.6 Lost
  • Labour -5.0 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

New Forest East: Conservative hold

Julian Lewis has been re-elected as the MP for New Forest East, with an increased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Labour's Julie Hope by 25,251 votes, 3,256 more votes than the majority at the 2017 election.

Bob Johnston of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Green Party's Nicola Jolly came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 1.7 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 51,000 people, 69% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Two of the five candidates, Nicola Jolly (Green) and Andrew Knight (Animal Welfare Party) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingConservatives hold New Forest East

Julian Lewis holds New Forest East for the Conservatives.

View more on twitter

Full Hampshire and Isle of Wight results

  • Aldershot: Conservative, Leo Docherty, 26,955 votes
  • Basingstoke: Conservative, Maria Miller, 29,510 votes
  • Eastleigh: Conservative, Mims Davies, 28,889 votes
  • Fareham: Conservative, Suella Fernandes, 35,915 votes
  • Gosport: Conservative, Caroline Dinenage, 30,647 votes
  • Hampshire East: Conservative, Damian Hinds, 35,263 votes
  • Hampshire North East: Conservative, Ranil Jayawardena, 37,754 votes
  • Hampshire North West: Conservative, Kit Malthouse, 36,471 votes
  • Havant: Conservative, Alan Mak, 27,676 votes
  • Isle of Wight: Conservative, Bob Seely, 38,190 votes
  • Meon Valley: Conservative, George Hollingbery, 35,624 votes
  • New Forest East: Conservative, Julian Lewis, 32,162 votes
  • New Forest West: Conservative, Desmond Swayne, 33,170 votes
  • Portsmouth North: Conservative, Penny Mordaunt, 25,860 votes
  • Portsmouth South: Labour, Stephen Morgan, 18,290 votes
  • Romsey and Southampton North: Conservative, Caroline Nokes, 28,668 votes
  • Southampton Itchen: Conservative, Royston Smith, 21,773 votes
  • Southampton Test: Labour, Alan Whitehead, 27,509 votes
  • Winchester: Conservative, Steve Brine, 29,729 votes

Full England results breakdown here.

New Forest East: Conservative hold

Election result

BreakingConservatives win New Forest East

Dr Julian Lewis retains New Forest East for the Conservatives.

New Forest turnout looks high

Neil Sackley

Reporter, BBC Radio Solent

Counting underway at Applemore Leisure Centre in Hythe for the New Forest East and West constituencies.

View more on twitter
There's been a lot happen in the six weeks since the snap 2017 General Election was called
There's been a lot happen across the south of England in the six weeks since the snap 2017 General Election was called.

General election 2017: Greens and UKIP form pacts in Hampshire

The Green party and UKIP have entered into political alliances in Hampshire. 

UKIP has said it is not standing in New Forest East or West constituencies to assist the Conservatives.

The Greens have stepped aside in Southampton Test to help Labour. 

The New Forest East and West seats are currently held by the Tories and Labour holds the Southampton Test seat. 

Nominations have now closed for prospective parliamentary candidates for the election on 8 June. 

Election ballot boxes

Here is a list of candidates for each constituency: 

New Forest East:

  • David Harrison, Liberal Democrats 
  • Julian Lewis, Conservatives 
  • Henry Mellor, Greens 
  • Julie Renyard, Labour 

New Forest West: 

  • Jo Graham, Labour 
  • Des Hjerling, Pirate Party UK 
  • Janet Richards, Greens 
  • Terry Scriven, Liberal Democrats 
  • Demond Swayne, Conservatives 

Southampton Test: 

  • Thomas Gravatt, Lib Dems 
  • Paul Holmes, Conservatives 
  • Keith Morrel, Independent 
  • Andrew Pope, Southampton Independents 
  • Alan Whitehead, Labour