UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Milton Keynes South

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Iain Stewart
    • Votes: 32,011
    • Vote share %: 50.0
    • Vote share change: +2.5
  2. Labour
    Hannah O'Neill
    • Votes: 25,067
    • Vote share %: 39.2
    • Vote share change: -5.7
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Saleyha Ahsan
    • Votes: 4,688
    • Vote share %: 7.3
    • Vote share change: +4.4
  4. Green
    Alan Francis
    • Votes: 1,495
    • Vote share %: 2.3
    • Vote share change: +0.5
  5. Independent
    Stephen Fulton
    • Votes: 539
    • Vote share %: 0.8
    • Vote share change: +0.8
  6. Christian Peoples Alliance
    Amarachi Ogba
    • Votes: 207
    • Vote share %: 0.3
    • Vote share change: +0.3

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 6,944
  • Registered voters: 96,343
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -3.4

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 50.0%
Labour 39.2%
Liberal Democrat 7.3%
Green 2.3%
Independent 0.8%
Christian Peoples Alliance 0.3%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +4.4 Gained
  • Conservative +2.5 Gained
  • Independent +0.8 Gained
  • Green +0.5 Gained
  • Christian Peoples Alliance +0.3 Gained
  • Labour -5.7 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

How the Buckinghamshire media is reporting the election

The Bucks Free Press is reflecting Tory Steve Baker's win in Wycombe with a significantly reduced majority. The MP, who has represented the constituency for nine years, told the paper it had been a "chastening campaign" due to his constituents views on Brexit, but he was "very pleased" with the result.

Buckingham's new MP Greg Smith has told The Bucks Herald of his "pledge to be a relentlessly local MP rolling up my sleeves and getting things done for this area". The Conservative, who has replaced the former House of Commons Speaker John Bercow, said it would be a "big challenge" to stop HS2 but thinks he can "prove the business case is not there".

The MK Citizen is reporting how the Conservatives won both Milton Keynes seats. Iain Stewart held his seat in Milton Keynes South and in Milton Keynes North, new MP Ben Everitt, who retained the seat for the Conservatives after Mark Lancaster retired, said he has a “huge passion and vision for the future of MK” which he called a “wonderful new city".

If you're just joining us...

There are four new MPs in Buckinghamshire, but no change to party representation.

  • Former Tory Dominic Grieve lost his seat after running as an independent in Beaconsfield. He was booted out of the Conservative Party earlier this year after he backed a bill to try to stop a no-deal Brexit. Beaten by the new Tory candidate Joy Morrissey, who won with 32,477 votes, he still won the support of more than 16,000 voters
  • In Buckingham, the former Speaker of the House of Commons' seat has been won by Conservative Greg Smith, beating Liberal Democrat Stephen Dorrell by 20,411 votes. John Bercow was elected as a Conservative for the first time in 1997, but resigned from the party when he became Speaker in 2009
  • Conservative Steve Baker has retained his seat in Wycombe but with a significantly decreased majority, down from 12.3% to 7.7%
  • New MP Rob Butler has held Aylesbury for the Conservatives with an increased majority after David Lidlington stood down earlier this year.
  • Cheryl Gillan has been re-elected as the Conservative MP for Chesham & Amersham, with a decreased majority
  • In Milton Keynes, Iain Stewart has been re-elected as the Conservative MP for Milton Keynes South and the Conservatives also held Milton Keynes North with Ben Everitt becoming the newly elected MP after Mark Lancaster stood down

Milton Keynes South: Conservative hold

Iain Stewart has been re-elected as the MP for Milton Keynes South, with an increased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Labour's Hannah O'Neill by 6,944 votes, more than four times the majority at the 2017 election.

Saleyha Ahsan of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Green Party's Alan Francis came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 3.4 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 64,000 people, roughly two-thirds of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Three of the six candidates, Alan Francis (Green), Stephen Fulton (independent) and Amarachi Ogba (Christian Peoples Alliance) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingMilton Keynes South: Conservative hold

Iain Stewart has been re-elected as the Conservative MP for Milton Keynes South.

Turnout down in Milton Keynes

The turnout in both Milton Keynes North and South has dropped compared with the 2017 general election.

Milton Keynes North was 68.5%, down from 71.7%.

Milton Keynes South was 66.6%, down from 69.8%

Counting is under way for both constituencies.

Milton Keynes count

It's gone bananas in Milton Keynes

Roundabouts, grid roads and concrete cows - these are some of the things which may come to mind when you think of Milton Keynes, but tonight all of those have all been overshadowed by a banana tree.

The plant has taken centre stage at the Milton Keynes count in Saxon Gate and it has got everyone talking.

"It's like being at the Eden Project," BBC reporter Luke Ashmead said.

"I don't think there's any other count in Bedfordshire, Hertfordshire and Buckinghamshire with a banana tree."

Banana tree at Milton Keynes count

Analysis: General Election in Buckinghamshire

Andy Holmes

BBC Three Counties Radio political reporter

Historically,Buckinghamshire is a strong Conservative county and there’s a good chance that will remain the same following tonight's counts.

Muddying the waters, though, are seats like Beaconsfield, where former Tory Dominic Grieve (pictured) stands as an Independent after losing his place in the party over Brexit.

Dominic Grieve

Elsewhere, the Milton Keynes seats were fairly tight in 2017, with Conservatives holding both, but by under 2,000 votes, and both Labour candidates from last time will stand again in a town that has a Labour-led council.

There’s also interest in Aylesbury, Buckingham and Milton Keynes North, with the standing MPs choosing not to seek re-election this time, meaning at least three fresh faces heading to Westminster.

What happened in Buckinghamshire overnight

Patrick Byrne

BBC News

If you're browsing through the results this morning in a bit of a daze, the Tories have held on to their key seats in Buckinghamshire but it's been a rough ride for them nationally with Prime Minister Theresa May now resisting calls for her to resign.

Conservative Mark Lancaster in Milton Keynes North increased his vote by 0.2% but was chased to the finish by Charlynne Pullen for Labour who swept up defectors from UKIP, the Lib Dems and the Green Party to increase her party's share of the vote by 14% to come within 2,000 votes of taking the seat.

In Milton Keynes South, Conservative Iain Stewart also saw a marginal increase in his vote of 0.7% to win by 1,725 votes from Labour's Hannah O'Neill who saw a 12.7% boost to her vote, picking up support from the same minority parties.

Speaker John Bercow's Buckingham seat was uncontested by Labour and the Lib Dems but UKIP lost 13.8% of its vote from the last General Election, finishing fourth behind the Greens' Michael Sheppard and independent Scott Raven.

Milton Keynes South: Conservative hold

Milton Keynes South