UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Dorset Mid & Poole North

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Michael Tomlinson
    • Votes: 29,548
    • Vote share %: 60.4
    • Vote share change: +1.1
  2. Liberal Democrat
    Vikki Slade
    • Votes: 14,650
    • Vote share %: 29.9
    • Vote share change: +2.5
  3. Labour
    Joanne Oldale
    • Votes: 3,402
    • Vote share %: 7.0
    • Vote share change: -6.4
  4. Green
    Natalie Carswell
    • Votes: 1,330
    • Vote share %: 2.7
    • Vote share change: +2.7

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 14,898
  • Registered voters: 65,426
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: +0.6

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 60.4%
Liberal Democrat 29.9%
Labour 7.0%
Green 2.7%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Green +2.7 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat +2.5 Gained
  • Conservative +1.1 Gained
  • Labour -6.4 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Dorset Mid & Poole North: Conservative hold

Michael Tomlinson has been re-elected as the MP for Dorset Mid & Poole North.

The Conservative candidate beat Liberal Democrat Vikki Slade by 14,898 votes, 441 votes less than the majority at the 2017 election.

Joanne Oldale of the Labour Party came third and the Green Party's Natalie Carswell came fourth.

Voter turnout was up by 0.6 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 49,000 people, roughly three-quarters of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

One of the four candidates, Natalie Carswell (Green) lost her £500 deposit after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingDorset Mid & Poole North: Conservative hold

Michael Tomlinson has been re-elected.

Dorset's solid blue electoral landscape

Tristan Pascoe

BBC Radio Solent political reporter

It’s unlikely there will be any huge electoral surprises in Dorset, with all eight seats held by the Conservatives, and none considered as marginal.

Two constituencies (Christchurch, North Dorset) have Tory majorities of more than 25,000. But it doesn’t mean there won’t be anything of interest to watch for.

Take Christchurch which Sir Christopher Chope has held since 1997. During the last Parliament, was branded a "dinosaur" after blocking bills on upskirting and demale genital mutilation - his own constituency association was split over him being adopted again as the Conservative candidate.

The Lib Dems say Mid Dorset and North Poole (held for them by them Annette Brooke 2001 - 2015) is a key target seat for them.

The national Labour narrative of the NHS has featured locally with many candidates in the Bournemouth Poole Christchurch conurbation opposed to the reorganisation of health services locally and the moving of A&E from Poole to Bournemouth.

There will definitely be at least one new MP in the county though. Sir Oliver Letwin, chief agitator for extending Article 50 and delaying Brexit until No Deal had been ruled out, has stepped down from his West Dorset seat after 22 years.

Boris Johnson’s main message of Get Brexit Done was in many senses preaching to the converted in Dorset - where every single electoral district in the county voted to Leave in the 2016 referendum.

Dorset Mid & Poole North: Conservative hold

Election graphic

Michael Tomlinson 'honoured' to be re-elected in Dorset Mid and Poole North