UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Theresa May
    • Votes: 32,620
    • Vote share %: 57.7
    • Vote share change: -7.0
  2. Liberal Democrat
    Joshua Reynolds
    • Votes: 13,774
    • Vote share %: 24.4
    • Vote share change: +13.2
  3. Labour
    Patrick McDonald
    • Votes: 7,882
    • Vote share %: 14.0
    • Vote share change: -5.4
  4. Green
    Emily Tomalin
    • Votes: 2,216
    • Vote share %: 3.9
    • Vote share change: +2.4

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 18,846
  • Registered voters: 76,668
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -2.9

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 57.7%
Liberal Democrat 24.4%
Labour 14.0%
Green 3.9%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +13.2 Gained
  • Green +2.4 Gained
  • Labour -5.4 Lost
  • Conservative -7.0 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Former PM Theresa May calls for SNP to accept independence referendum result

Former prime minister Theresa May has called on the Scottish National Party to accept the independence referendum result.

The SNP, who gained 13 seats, has been campaigning for a second vote, despite 55.3% of Scots voting to stay in the UK in the 2014 referendum.

Mrs May, who held her Maidenhead seat, said: "The SNP themselves said in 2014 that the referendum was once in a generation, indeed a once in a life-time referendum, and therefore they should accept that result.

Theresa May

"And of course we all know it is in Scotland's economic interest to be a part of the UK."

She added: "I think its time the SNP focused on the day-to-day issues on the job of governing in Scotland and stopped simply putting this single issue of independence forward."

The Maidenhead MP's majority reduced following a 10.1% swing to the Lib Dems.

'A bright future out there' says Theresa May.

Former PM Theresa May is optimistic about the future, after being returned as the Maidenhead MP - albeit with a reduced majority.

Election results 2019: Former PM Theresa May reelected as Maidenhead MP

Maidenhead: Conservative hold

Former Prime Minister Theresa May has been re-elected as the MP for Maidenhead, with a decreased majority.

The ex-Conservative leader, who stepped down in June 2019 after failing to get her Brexit deal through parliament, beat Liberal Democrat Joshua Reynolds by 18,846 votes, 7,611 votes less than the majority at the 2017 election.

Patrick McDonald of the Labour Party came third and the Green Party's Emily Tomalin came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 2.9 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 56,000 people, roughly three-quarters of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

One of the four candidates, Emily Tomalin (Green) lost her £500 deposit after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingConservatives hold Maidenhead

Former Prime Minister Theresa May will continue to be the Maidenhead MP.

View more on twitter

Former Prime Minister arrives in Maidenhead

It's all smiles for Theresa May tonight, she's likely to keep her Maidenhead seat - a seat she has held since it was created in 1997.

Theresa May

Counting begins in Maidenhead

Ballot counting
Counting has begun in Maidenhead

The first ballot boxes have arrived in Maidenhead, Berkshire, to be counted.

As you might recall, the seat has been held by former Prime Minister Theresa May since it was created in 1997.

Regardless of tonight's result, this election will feel different for Mrs May compared to the snap one she called in 2017, which no doubt will feel like a long time ago.

Maidenhead General Election Debate

Andrew puts your questions to Maidenhead candidates standing in the 2019 General Election.
Andrew Peach speaks to 2019 Maidenhead parliamentary candidates Theresa May for the Conservatives, Pat McDonald for the Labour Party, Josh Reynolds for the Lib Dems and Emily Tomalin for the Green Party. A full list of candidates can be found at