UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Islington North

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Labour
    Jeremy Corbyn
    • Votes: 34,603
    • Vote share %: 64.3
    • Vote share change: -8.7
  2. Liberal Democrat
    Nick Wakeling
    • Votes: 8,415
    • Vote share %: 15.6
    • Vote share change: +6.6
  3. Conservative
    James Clark
    • Votes: 5,483
    • Vote share %: 10.2
    • Vote share change: -2.3
  4. Green
    Caroline Russell
    • Votes: 4,326
    • Vote share %: 8.0
    • Vote share change: +4.0
  5. The Brexit Party
    Yosef David
    • Votes: 742
    • Vote share %: 1.4
    • Vote share change: +1.4
  6. Monster Raving Loony Party
    Nick The Brick
    • Votes: 236
    • Vote share %: 0.4
    • Vote share change: +0.2

Change compared with 2017


  • LAB majority: 26,188
  • Registered voters: 75,162
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -1.8

Vote share

Party % share
Labour 64.3%
Liberal Democrat 15.6%
Conservative 10.2%
Green 8.0%
The Brexit Party 1.4%
Monster Raving Loony Party 0.4%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +6.6 Gained
  • Green +4.0 Gained
  • The Brexit Party +1.4 Gained
  • Monster Raving Loony Party +0.2 Gained
  • Conservative -2.3 Lost
  • Labour -8.7 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Islington North: Corbyn holds seat on 'disappointing night' for Labour

Jeremy Corbyn won a bitter-sweet victory in his Islington North seat as he announced he would stand down as Labour leader over his party's "disappointing" election results.

Mr Corbyn, Labour leader since 2015, beat Liberal Democrat Nick Wakeling by 26,188 votes, 7,027 votes less than the majority at the 2017 election.

In his victory speech, Mr Corbyn conceded that it had been a "very disappointing night for the party".

Labour is on course for its worst result since 1935, the poll suggests, with the party forecast to lose 71 seats.

Mr Corbyn said he would not lead Labour in a future general election, but would stay on for the time being while a period of "reflection" and discussion takes place.

James Clark of the Conservative Party came third and the Green Party's Caroline Russell came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 1.8 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 54,000 people, 71.6% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Two of the six candidates, Yosef David (The Brexit Party) and Nick The Brick (Monster Raving Loony Party) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

Cornwall candidate fails in Corbyn battle

Miles Davis

BBC News Online

A man from Cornwall who stood against the Labour Party leader Jeremy Corbyn has lost his deposit.

Michael Foster stood unsuccessfully as the Labour candidate in Camborne and Redruth in 2015 but decided to stand in Islington North to show his opposition to Mr Corbyn's leadership of the party.

Mr Corbyn took the seat with 40,086 votes, Mr Foster got 208 votes.

Islington result

Islington North: Labour hold

election graphic