UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Ilford South

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Labour
    Sam Tarry
    • Votes: 35,085
    • Vote share %: 65.6
    • Vote share change: -10.2
  2. Conservative
    Ali Azeem
    • Votes: 10,984
    • Vote share %: 20.5
    • Vote share change: -0.4
  3. Independent Group for Change
    Mike Gapes
    • Votes: 3,891
    • Vote share %: 7.3
    • Vote share change: +7.3
  4. Liberal Democrat
    Ashburn Holder
    • Votes: 1,795
    • Vote share %: 3.4
    • Vote share change: +2.0
  5. The Brexit Party
    Munish Sharma
    • Votes: 1,008
    • Vote share %: 1.9
    • Vote share change: +1.9
  6. Green
    RoseMary Warrington
    • Votes: 714
    • Vote share %: 1.3
    • Vote share change: +0.4

Change compared with 2017


  • LAB majority: 24,101
  • Registered voters: 84,957
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -7.0

Vote share

Party % share
Labour 65.6%
Conservative 20.5%
Independent Group for Change 7.3%
Liberal Democrat 3.4%
The Brexit Party 1.9%
Green 1.3%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Independent Group for Change +7.3 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat +2.0 Gained
  • The Brexit Party +1.9 Gained
  • Green +0.4 Gained
  • Conservative -0.4 Lost
  • Labour -10.2 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Ilford South: Mike Gapes loses seat

Sam Tarry has been elected MP for Ilford South, meaning that the Labour Party holds the seat with a decreased majority.

The new MP beat Conservative Ali Azeem by 24,101 votes. This was fewer than the 31,647 vote majority won by the sitting MP, Mike Gapes, in the 2017 general election.

Mr Gapes left the Labour Party in February to found the Independent Group, but came third in this election. Liberal Democrat Ashburn Holder came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 7 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 53,000 people, 62.9% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Three of the six candidates, Ashburn Holder (Liberal Democrat), Munish Sharma (The Brexit Party) and RoseMary Warrington (Green) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

Appeal after Redbridge 'hit-and-run'

Police are continuing to appeal for witnesses following a fail-to-stop collision in Redbridge.

On Tuesday, 9 January, a silver BMW 330 Sport was in collision with a Vauxhall Vectra on the A406 Ilford Hill Flyover above the junction with A118 Romford Road and Ilford Hill.

As a result of the impact from the collision, the Vectra collided with two men who were standing at the side of the flyover next to their own car, which had broken down.

The two men, aged 46 and 45, were taken to hospital with serious injuries which resulted in the 45-year-old man having his leg amputated. They both remain in hospital.

The occupants of the Vectra - a driver and a passenger - were not injured.

The BMW stopped at the scene, however the male driver ran off prior to the arrival of emergency services.

Ilford South: Labour Hold

Election Graphic

Labour success down to manifesto, not Corbyn - Mike Gapes

General election 2017: How do I register to vote?

Don't get left outside on polling day. Here are details of what you need and where you need to go to register for the general election on 8 June: