UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Jonathan Djanogly
    • Votes: 32,386
    • Vote share %: 54.8
    • Vote share change: -0.4
  2. Labour
    Samuel Sweek
    • Votes: 13,003
    • Vote share %: 22.0
    • Vote share change: -8.9
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Mark Argent
    • Votes: 9,432
    • Vote share %: 15.9
    • Vote share change: +7.4
  4. Green
    Daniel Laycock
    • Votes: 2,233
    • Vote share %: 3.8
    • Vote share change: +1.9
  5. Independent
    Paul Bullen
    • Votes: 1,789
    • Vote share %: 3.0
    • Vote share change: +3.0
  6. Independent
    Tom Varghese
    • Votes: 304
    • Vote share %: 0.5
    • Vote share change: +0.5

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 19,383
  • Registered voters: 84,657
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -1.0

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 54.8%
Labour 22.0%
Liberal Democrat 15.9%
Green 3.8%
Independent 3.0%
Independent 0.5%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +7.4 Gained
  • Independent +3.0 Gained
  • Green +1.9 Gained
  • Independent +0.5 Gained
  • Conservative -0.4 Lost
  • Labour -8.9 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Huntingdon: Conservative hold

Jonathan Djanogly has been re-elected as the MP for Huntingdon, with an increased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Labour's Samuel Sweek by 19,383 votes, 4,908 more votes than the majority at the 2017 election.

Mark Argent of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Green Party's Daniel Laycock came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 1 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 59,000 people, 69.9% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Three of the six candidates, Daniel Laycock (Green), Paul Bullen (independent) and Tom Varghese (independent) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingHuntingdon: Conservative hold

The Conservative candidate Jonathan Djanogly retains his seat.

Turnout slightly down in Huntingdon

There was a turnout of 70.2% in Huntingdon, down very slightly from 70.9% in 2017.

Count in Huntingdon

East MPs among Brexit vote rebels

A number of MPs in the east of England were among 11 Tory rebels who voted against the government, defeating a key Brexit vote.

The backbench revolt in the Commons last night resulted in the first significant defeat for Theresa May's Brexit legislation.

Theresa May
Getty Images

Eleven Conservatives - including South Cambridgeshire's Heidi Allen, Huntingdon's Jonathan Djanogly, Beaconsfield MP Dominic Grieve and North East Hertfordshire's Sir Oliver Heald - chose to side with Labour in demanding that MPs be given a vote on any Brexit deal before it is finalised.

UKIP 'did not have time to prepare', says Huntingdon candidate

The UK Independence Party candidate for Huntingdon has said the party needs time to reflect on the "disappointing" campaign before rushing to choose a new leader.

Paul Bullen

Paul Nuttall has stepped down as UKIP leader after a disastrous night for his party.

Paul Bullen, who came fourth for UKIP in Huntingdon, with a vote-share down by 13%, said: "The election was sprung upon us and we did not have enough time to prepare an election stance and get out our publicity."

He said the party must reflect on the campaign.