UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Oliver Dowden
    • Votes: 32,651
    • Vote share %: 62.5
    • Vote share change: +1.4
  2. Labour
    Holly Kal-Weiss
    • Votes: 11,338
    • Vote share %: 21.7
    • Vote share change: -6.9
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Stephen Barrett
    • Votes: 6,561
    • Vote share %: 12.6
    • Vote share change: +7.2
  4. Green
    John Humphries
    • Votes: 1,653
    • Vote share %: 3.2
    • Vote share change: +1.3

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 21,313
  • Registered voters: 73,971
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -0.5

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 62.5%
Labour 21.7%
Liberal Democrat 12.6%
Green 3.2%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +7.2 Gained
  • Conservative +1.4 Gained
  • Green +1.3 Gained
  • Labour -6.9 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

If you're just joining us...

There are four new MPs in Hertfordshire, but only one represents a change of party:

  • In St Albans, Liberal Democrat Daisy Cooper has taken the seat from Conservative Anne Main
  • Conservative Gagan Mohindra held the seat of South West Hertfordshire, despite a challenge from former Tory MP for the seat David Gauke, who had the whip removed after he voted against the government and stood as an independent
  • In Hertford and Stortford, Conservative candidate Julie Marson has held the seat for the Tories after Mark Prisk stood down
  • In Watford, Dean Russell has been elected MP for Watford, meaning that the Conservative Party holds the seat with an increased majority. He beat Labour's Chris Ostrowski by 4,433 votes, more than double Richard Harrington’s 2,092 vote majority in 2017
  • Elsewhere, all the Conservative candidates held their seats. Oliver Heald held Hertfordshire North East, Transport Secretary Grant Shapps retained his seat of Welwyn Hatfield, Bim Afolami held Hitchin and Harpenden, Stephen McPartlandwas re-elected as the MP for Stevenage.
  • In Hertsmere, Oliver Dowden has been re-elected, Sir Mike Penning has held Hemel Hempstead and in Broxbourne, Charles Walker has held his seat. .

Hertsmere: Conservative hold

Oliver Dowden has been re-elected as the MP for Hertsmere, with an increased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Labour's Holly Kal-Weiss by 21,313 votes, 4,362 more votes than the majority at the 2017 election.

Stephen Barrett of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Green Party's John Humphries came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 0.5 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 52,000 people, 70.6% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

One of the four candidates, John Humphries (Green) lost his £500 deposit after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingHertsmere: Conservative hold

Conservative Oliver Dowden has held on to the seat of Hertsmere in Hertfordshire with a 4.2% swing from Labour.

Support for Conservatives increases in safe territory

Patrick Byrne

BBC News

Many parts of Hertfordshire represent "safe Tory territory" and sitting MPs were able to consolidate their support in spite of big swings to Labour.

Conservative Oliver Heald boosted his share of the vote in Hertfordshire North East by 3.3% to take a 58.6% share with Labour's Doug Swanney trailing on 28.3%. UKIP again failed to field a candidate.

Mike Penning held Hemel Hempstead for the Tories witha 9,445 majority and 55% of the vote, a 2.1% boost, with Labour's Mandi Tattershall increasing her share by 13.1% to take 36.9%.

In Hertsmere Conservative Oliver Dowden took a 61.1% share following a marginal 1.8% increase with Fiona Smith for Labour on 28.7% and UKIP's David Hoy losing 9.7% of his party's vote share.

David Gauke in Hertfordshire South West won 57.9% of the vote share for the Tories with Rob Wakely boosting Labour's share by 9.4%, exactly the amount lost by UKIP.

Result in: Dowden holds Hertsmere

Andy Holmes

BBC Three Counties Radio political reporter

As expected, a Tory win for Oliver Dowden in Hertsmere, with more votes for the man who was a first time MP in 2015.

But Labour will perhaps be pleased to have gained over 3,700 votes in the seat, as they take a bigger share of the lost UKIP support.

Hertsmere count
Hertsmere Borough Council

The breakdown of the votes is as follows:

  • Oliver Dowden (Con) 31,928
  • Fiona Smith (Lab) 14,977
  • Joe Jordan (Lib Dem) 2,794
  • David Hoy (UKIP) 1,564
  • Sophie Summerhayes (Green) 990

BreakingConservatives hold Hertsmere

Oliver Dowden (Con) has held Hertsmere with 31,928 votes.

Hertsmere: Conservative hold

Election result

Hertsmere: Constituency analysis

Andy Holmes

BBC Three Counties Radio political reporter

Hertsmere’s MP before the election was called, Oliver Dowden, is our newest representative, having won election for the first time in 2015.

Oliver Dowden
Conservative Party

He’s in a seat that has only known Tory control since it was set up in 1983, and Dowden carries a majority of more than 18,000 into this election.

Coming up against him in 2017 will be candidates from Labour, the Lib Dems, the Greens and UKIP.

General election 2017: How do I register to vote?

Don't get left outside on polling day. Here are details of what you need and where you need to go to register for the general election on 8 June: