UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Hereford & Herefordshire South

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Jesse Norman
    • Votes: 30,390
    • Vote share %: 61.2
    • Vote share change: +7.7
  2. Labour
    Anna-Maria Coda
    • Votes: 10,704
    • Vote share %: 21.6
    • Vote share change: -2.2
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Lucy Hurds
    • Votes: 6,181
    • Vote share %: 12.5
    • Vote share change: +5.4
  4. Green
    Diana Toynbee
    • Votes: 2,371
    • Vote share %: 4.8
    • Vote share change: +2.4

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 19,686
  • Registered voters: 72,085
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -2.1

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 61.2%
Labour 21.6%
Liberal Democrat 12.5%
Green 4.8%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Conservative +7.7 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat +5.4 Gained
  • Green +2.4 Gained
  • Labour -2.2 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

MP hopes to 'move towards a different style of politics'

The returning Hereford and Herefordshire South MP Jesse Norman has said he hopes people can move on from the bitterness of the general election campaign and "move towards a different style of politics."

He said: "This has been a very tough, closely fought election, people tend to do silly things sometimes in the heat of the moment and that's not confined to any political party."

Jesse Norman
Getty Images

Mr Norman said that wasn't the case in his constituency, where he thought there had been a good-natured campaign.

Mark Garnier, the re-elected Conservative MP for Wyre Forest, said: "Boris Johnson has got to heal the wounds that we have over Brexit", adding "if we are a divided country, we're not going to be able to take advantage of the opportunities Brexit has to offer."

Hereford & Herefordshire South: Conservative hold

Jesse Norman has been re-elected as the MP for Hereford & Herefordshire South, with an increased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Labour's Anna-Maria Coda by 19,686 votes, 4,673 more votes than the majority at the 2017 election.

Lucy Hurds of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Green Party's Diana Toynbee came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 2.1 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 50,000 people, 68.9% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

One of the four candidates, Diana Toynbee (Green) lost her £500 deposit after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingResult: Conservative hold in Hereford and Herefordshire South

Jesse Norman has been re-elected as the Conservative MP for Hereford and Herefordshire South where he has been an MP since 2010.

Slideshow: General election results for Herefordshire and Worcestershire

Here are the full results for each of the constituencies in Herefordshire and Worcestershire.

General election results for Herefordshire and Worcestershire

Who won in Herefordshire and Worcestershire

James Pearson

Political reporter, BBC Hereford & Worcester

The Conservatives held on to all the seats in Herefordshire and Worcestershire, polling more votes, but not increasing their majority in all seats.


  • Hereford and South Herefordshire: Jesse Norman saw his majority decrease by almost 2,000 to 15,013
  • North Herefordshire: Bill Wiggin increased his majority to 21,602


  • Bromsgrove: Sajid Javid saw his majority increase by 44 votes to 16,573
  • Mid Worcestershire: Nigel Huddleston increased his majority by around 3,000 to 23,326
  • Redditch: new MP Rachel Maclean increased the Conservative majority by around 300 votes to 7,363
  • West Worcestershire: Harriett Baldwin’s majority decreased slightly, to 21,328
  • Worcester: Robin Walker saw his majority more than halved to 2,490
  • Wyre Forest: Mark Garnier saw his majority increase to 13,334

Hereford: Conservative hold

Election graphic

BreakingHereford and Herefordshire South: Conservative hold

The Conservatives have held Hereford and Herefordshire South.

Jesse Norman was returned with a majority of 15,013.