UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Hayes & Harlington

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Labour
    John McDonnell
    • Votes: 24,545
    • Vote share %: 55.8
    • Vote share change: -10.7
  2. Conservative
    Wayne Bridges
    • Votes: 15,284
    • Vote share %: 34.7
    • Vote share change: +6.1
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Alexander Cunliffe
    • Votes: 1,947
    • Vote share %: 4.4
    • Vote share change: +3.2
  4. The Brexit Party
    Harry Boparai
    • Votes: 1,292
    • Vote share %: 2.9
    • Vote share change: +2.9
  5. Green
    Christine West
    • Votes: 739
    • Vote share %: 1.7
    • Vote share change: +0.5
  6. Christian Peoples Alliance
    Chika Amadi
    • Votes: 187
    • Vote share %: 0.4
    • Vote share change: +0.4

Change compared with 2017


  • LAB majority: 9,261
  • Registered voters: 72,356
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -4.4

Vote share

Party % share
Labour 55.8%
Conservative 34.7%
Liberal Democrat 4.4%
The Brexit Party 2.9%
Green 1.7%
Christian Peoples Alliance 0.4%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Conservative +6.1 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat +3.2 Gained
  • The Brexit Party +2.9 Gained
  • Green +0.5 Gained
  • Christian Peoples Alliance +0.4 Gained
  • Labour -10.7 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Scuffles break out at Hayes & Harlington count

Scuffles break out at Hayes & Harlington during speech by Labour's John McDonnell

During a speech by Labour's John McDonnell, there were scenes of heckling and scuffling in the crowd.

'Scuffle' breaks out at count

Scuffle breaks out
PA Media

Cries of "liar" and "terrorist" rang out as Mr McDonnell was giving his acceptance speech.

Police had to intervene to temper the disturbance.

The Shadow Chancellor said: "It is quite clear that there are fears also now for our democracy and the rise of the extreme right.

"But I say now we will organise and we will ensure this type of democracy will reign, and the democratic wishes of our people will be respected, and this sort of extreme right wing violence will not be tolerated within our society."

Scuffle breaks out
PA Media

Hayes & Harlington: Labour hold

Shadow chancellor John McDonnell has been re-elected as the MP for Hayes & Harlington, with a decreased majority.

The Labour candidate beat Conservative Wayne Bridges by 9,261 votes, 8,854 votes less than the majority at the 2017 election.

Alexander Cunliffe of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Brexit Party's Harry Boparai came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 4.4 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 44,000 people, 60.8% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Four of the six candidates, Alexander Cunliffe (Liberal Democrat), Harry Boparai (The Brexit Party), Christine West (Green) and Chika Amadi (Christian Peoples Alliance) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

Half of London's new MPs oppose Heathrow expansion say campaigners

Getty Images

Campaign group HACAN, has claimed that over half of London’s MPs are likely to oppose a third runway at Heathrow.

The group says its research shows 31 of the capital’s 73 MPs are known opponents of a third runway.

HACAN Chair John Stewart said, “Once the views of all London’s MPs are known, it is highly likely that a majority will be opposed to Heathrow expansion.

“Of themselves they may not stop it but they could act as a very awkward bloc to a new runway ever seeing the light of day, particularly given the fact that the new Government doesn’t have a majority of seats in Parliament.”

Hayes & Harlington: Labour hold

Election Graphic

General election 2017: How do I register to vote?

Don't get left outside on polling day. Here are details of what you need and where you need to go to register for the general election on 8 June: