UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Harrogate & Knaresborough

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Andrew Jones
    • Votes: 29,962
    • Vote share %: 52.6
    • Vote share change: -2.9
  2. Liberal Democrat
    Judith Rogerson
    • Votes: 20,287
    • Vote share %: 35.6
    • Vote share change: +12.2
  3. Labour
    Mark Sewards
    • Votes: 5,480
    • Vote share %: 9.6
    • Vote share change: -10.5
  4. The Yorkshire Party
    Kieron George
    • Votes: 1,208
    • Vote share %: 2.1
    • Vote share change: +2.1

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 9,675
  • Registered voters: 77,914
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -0.3

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 52.6%
Liberal Democrat 35.6%
Labour 9.6%
The Yorkshire Party 2.1%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +12.2 Gained
  • The Yorkshire Party +2.1 Gained
  • Conservative -2.9 Lost
  • Labour -10.5 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

MP aims to work 'flat out' for Harrogate and Knaresborough

Conservative MP Andrew Jones has retained his seat in Harrogate and Knaresborough.

Andrew Jones
Parliament TV

The seat had been targeted by the Liberal Democrats, but Mr Jones won with a majority of 9,675.

Mr Jones (pictured) said it had been "a really interesting campaign" but he was now turning his mind towards the task ahead.

"It's a great privilege to represent your home area. There's great trust put in you by the people who vote and I'll be working flat out to repay that trust," he said.

Harrogate & Knaresborough: Conservative hold

Andrew Jones has been re-elected as the MP for Harrogate & Knaresborough, with a decreased majority.

election graphic

The Conservative candidate beat Liberal Democrat Judith Rogerson by 9,675 votes, 8,493 votes less than the majority at the 2017 election.

Mark Sewards of the Labour Party came third and the Yorkshire Party's Kieron George came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 0.3 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 57,000 people, roughly three-quarters of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

One of the four candidates, Kieron George (The Yorkshire Party) lost his £500 deposit after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingHarrogate and Knaresborough: Conservative hold

The Conservative's have held Harrogate and Knaresborough. Andrew Jones won with 29,962 votes.

Harrogate and Knaresborough turnout revealed

The turnout for Harrogate and Knaresborough has been announced - and it's exactly the same as the 2017 election.

Returning officer at a podium

A total of 73% of people in the constituency voted - that's 57,103 votes.

We'll find out who has taken the seat shortly, with the Conservatives currently holding what's thought to be a "safe seat".

What happened in England's biggest county?

We have one of the of the most dramatic results in recent General Election history.

Instead of the expected clear increased majority in the House Of Commons, the Conservatives lost seats and we have a hung parliament.

All North Yorkshire MPs kept their seats and the Conservatives continue to form a ring around the Labour seat of York Central.

Here's Phil Bodmer to round up what happened in England's largest county:

Conservative hold in Harrogate

Andrew Jones holds his seat in Harrogate
The Conservatives' Andrew Jones holds his seat in the Harrogate & Knaresborough constituency.

Harrogate and Knaresborough result in detail

Tim Dale

BBC Local Live

Just a few more details of the result in Harrogate and Knaresborough.

Andrew Jones is returned to Westminster with a majority of 18,168 an increase of 1,797.

The Liberal Democrats were in second place with Labour in third. Both having increased their share of the vote.

Turnout was 73.4% a rise of 3.6% on 2015.

Andrew Jones