UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Neil O'Brien
    • Votes: 31,698
    • Vote share %: 55.3
    • Vote share change: +3.0
  2. Labour
    Celia Hibbert
    • Votes: 14,420
    • Vote share %: 25.2
    • Vote share change: -5.6
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Zuffar Haq
    • Votes: 9,103
    • Vote share %: 15.9
    • Vote share change: +3.2
  4. Green
    Darren Woodiwiss
    • Votes: 1,709
    • Vote share %: 3.0
    • Vote share change: +1.1
  5. Independent
    Robin Lambert
    • Votes: 389
    • Vote share %: 0.7
    • Vote share change: +0.7

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 17,278
  • Registered voters: 80,151
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -1.6

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 55.3%
Labour 25.2%
Liberal Democrat 15.9%
Green 3.0%
Independent 0.7%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +3.2 Gained
  • Conservative +3.0 Gained
  • Green +1.1 Gained
  • Independent +0.7 Gained
  • Labour -5.6 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

MP: More clarity needed over local lockdown

BBC Radio Leicester

The government needs to give more clarity on the easing of lockdown restrictions in Leicestershire, the MP for Harborough has said.

Neil O'Brien - who is a Conservative representative - says he's having tough conversations with the prime minister about getting the people of Oadby and Wigston out of lockdown and securing financial help for businesses.

He said failing to provide financial support for firms forced to close would be "unacceptable", adding he's had "some very direct arguments" with his own government about the issue.

Oadby and Wigston, as well as the city of Leicester, is still subject to local lockdown restrictions which are set to be reviewed by 1 August.

Neil O'Brien

I don't want officials to totally tie their hands, but we do need some clearer principles so that people can understand about where areas come in and out of lockdown. I personally think that the trend is so encouraging that it would be right to take us out [of lockdown]."

Neil O'BrienConservative MP for Harborough

Harborough: Conservative hold

Neil O'Brien has been re-elected as the MP for Harborough, with an increased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Labour's Celia Hibbert by 17,278 votes, 4,849 more votes than the majority at the 2017 election.

Zuffar Haq of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Green Party's Darren Woodiwiss came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 1.9 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 57,000 people, 71.2% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Two of the five candidates, Darren Woodiwiss (Green) and Robin Lambert (independent) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

O'Brien to prioritise planning

Amy Woodfield

BBC News

Neil O'Brien said it's "wonderful" to get re-elected and to increase his majority to more then 17,000.

Neil O'Brien
Neil O'Brien

"Hopefully this will now provide an enduring majority - we shouldn't have another general election again for some time and we can actually get on with the most important things.

"One of my big local priorities is trying to reform our planning system. Too often we get house built in the wrong places without the right infrastructure," he said.

Sentences of repeat offenders and increasing police numbers are also an important issue for him.

BreakingConservatives hold Harborough

Amy Woodfield

BBC News

It's good news for Neil O'Brien - the Conservative MP has kept his Harborough seat.

Big turnout in Leicestershire's county seats

Amy Woodfield

BBC News

There's been a big turnout in the Harborough constituency - 57,534 people cast their vote, that's 72% of potential voters.

Harborough count in Oadby

It was a similar result in the Rutland and Melton constituency where 70.74% of voters braved the wet weather to visit the polling station.

In their neighbouring constituency, South Leicestershire, where there has also been a by-election, the turnout was 72%.

Tory smiles at Harborough count

Bridget Blair

BBC Radio Leicester Reporter

There's a real atmosphere already at Parklands Leisure Centre in Oadby where we're awaiting the results for the Harborough constituency.

The walls here are painted "badminton blue" and everyone who is wearing a blue rosette has a big smile on their face.

Conservative rosette
PA Media

They're all talking about the predicted 86 Conservative majority in the exit polls.

Phil King, the Conservative leader of the Harborough District Council, told me "the exit polls haven't lied in the last few elections".

Harborough: Conservative hold

Result graphic

BreakingHarborough: Conservative hold

Amy Woodfield

BBC Local Live

Conservative Neil O'Brien has held Harborough for the Conservatives, but with a reduced majority.

Mr O'Brien was selected as the Tory candidate after Edward Garnier, who served as Harborough MP for 25 years, stepped down.

Harborough count

Listen: Voters question candidates ahead of election

Amy Woodfield

BBC Local Live

An election debate was held at the BBC in Leicester last night.

The future of the NHS, HS2, tuition fees, immigration and fox hunting were just some of the topics raised by audience members.


In the firing line were Zuffar Haq for the Liberal Democrats, Roger Helmer for the UK Independence Party, Labour's Chris Kealey, Conservative Nicky Morgan and Mags Lewis for the Green Party.

Zuffar Haq, Roger Helmer, Chris Kealey, Nicky Morgan and Mags Lewis

It was a muscular 60-minute exchange with the panel of party candidates interrogated and held to account.

You can listen to the whole debate here...

General election 2017: How do I register to vote?

Don't get left outside on polling day. Here are details of what you need and where you need to go to register for the general election on 8 June: