UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Garston & Halewood

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Labour
    Maria Eagle
    • Votes: 38,578
    • Vote share %: 72.3
    • Vote share change: -5.4
  2. Conservative
    Neva Novaky
    • Votes: 6,954
    • Vote share %: 13.0
    • Vote share change: -4.6
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Kris Brown
    • Votes: 3,324
    • Vote share %: 6.2
    • Vote share change: +3.0
  4. The Brexit Party
    Jake Fraser
    • Votes: 2,943
    • Vote share %: 5.5
    • Vote share change: +5.5
  5. Green
    Jean-Paul Roberts
    • Votes: 1,183
    • Vote share %: 2.2
    • Vote share change: +0.8
  6. Liberal Party
    Hazel Williams
    • Votes: 344
    • Vote share %: 0.6
    • Vote share change: +0.6

Change compared with 2017


  • LAB majority: 31,624
  • Registered voters: 76,116
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -1.1

Vote share

Party % share
Labour 72.3%
Conservative 13.0%
Liberal Democrat 6.2%
The Brexit Party 5.5%
Green 2.2%
Liberal Party 0.6%

Vote share change since 2017

  • The Brexit Party +5.5 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat +3.0 Gained
  • Green +0.8 Gained
  • Liberal Party +0.6 Gained
  • Conservative -4.6 Lost
  • Labour -5.4 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Garston & Halewood: Labour hold

Maria Eagle has been re-elected as the MP for Garston & Halewood, with a decreased majority.

The Labour candidate beat Conservative Neva Novaky by 31,624 votes, 525 votes less than the majority at the 2017 election.

Kris Brown of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Brexit Party's Jake Fraser came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 1.1 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 53,000 people, 70.1% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Two of the six candidates, Jean-Paul Roberts (Green) and Hazel Williams (Liberal Party) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

RESULT: Labour retains Garston and Halewood

Maria Eagle has retained Garston and Halewood for Labour.

Maria Eagle
UK Parliament

Labour 'despair' in Liverpool

The BBC's Merseyside political correspondent Claire Hamilton reports Labour members are pretty downbeat in Liverpool.

View more on twitter

More research ordered into ageing tyres' safety

More research into the safety risk posed by ageing tyres has been ordered by the transport minister in response to a campaign set up by the mother of a Merseyside teenager who died in a coach crash.

Maria Eagle and Michael Molloy
Maria Eagle raised the issue in Parliament following a campaign by the mother of teenage crash victim Michael Molloy

John Hayes made the pledge under questioning from Labour MP for Garston and Halewood Maria Eagle, who has tabled draft legislation after the death of her constituent Michael Molloy.

The 18-year-old was killed in 2012 after a coach tyre more than 19 years old exploded on the A3 in Surrey while returning from a music festival.

Ms Eagle has urged action to take tyres that are more than 10 years old off the UK's roads.

She asked Mr Hayes whether the Conservatives would oppose her proposed legislation.

I think there's a need for more research... my department will engage in further research with the experts in the industry and others to establish exactly the effect of the age of tyres on safety and security."

John HayesTransport Minister

Garston & Halewood: Labour hold

Result graphic

Garston and Halewood: Labour hold

Maria Eagle holds the Labour seat for Garston and Halewood with 41,599 votes.

Tories came second with 9,450 votes going to Adam Marsden.

General election 2017: How do I register to vote?

Don't get left outside on polling day. Here are details of what you need and where you need to go to register for the general election on 8 June:

The deadline to register is 22 May