UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Epsom & Ewell

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Chris Grayling
    • Votes: 31,819
    • Vote share %: 53.5
    • Vote share change: -6.1
  2. Liberal Democrat
    Steve Gee
    • Votes: 13,946
    • Vote share %: 23.5
    • Vote share change: +11.0
  3. Labour
    Ed Mayne
    • Votes: 10,226
    • Vote share %: 17.2
    • Vote share change: -7.8
  4. Green
    Janice Baker
    • Votes: 2,047
    • Vote share %: 3.4
    • Vote share change: +0.6
  5. Independent
    Clive Woodbridge
    • Votes: 1,413
    • Vote share %: 2.4
    • Vote share change: +2.4

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 17,873
  • Registered voters: 81,138
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -0.8

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 53.5%
Liberal Democrat 23.5%
Labour 17.2%
Green 3.4%
Independent 2.4%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +11.0 Gained
  • Independent +2.4 Gained
  • Green +0.6 Gained
  • Conservative -6.1 Lost
  • Labour -7.8 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Epsom & Ewell: Conservative hold

Chris Grayling has been re-elected as the MP for Epsom & Ewell, with a decreased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Liberal Democrat Steve Gee by 17,873 votes.

Ed Mayne of the Labour Party came third and the Green Party's Janice Baker came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 0.8 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 59,000 people, roughly three-quarters of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Two of the five candidates, Janice Baker (Green) and Clive Woodbridge (independent) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingEPSOM AND EWELL RESULT: Conservative hold

Epsom and Ewell result

Profile: Epsom & Ewell

A safe Conservative seat, Chris Grayling has a majority of nearly 20,500.

The former transport secretary, justice secretary and leader of the Commons has been Epsom and Ewell MP since 2001.

The constituency voted narrowly to stay in the EU in the 2016 referendum, by 52.2% to 47.8%.

Chris Grayling
Chris Grayling is defending a majority of nearly 20,500

Festive count taking place in Epsom

Peter Stewart

BBC Online

The Epsom count is happening in a room decked out for Christmas parties, complete with tree, dance floor and red and white drapes and streamers.

The colours are no indication of the likely outcome: Epsom and Ewell is a Conservative stronghold with a majority of 34%.

Despite residents here voting 48% to 52% to stay in Europe, it looks likely to stay in the hands of one-time Justice and Transport minister Chris Grayling come the anticipated declaration at around 04:30.

Epsom & Ewell: Conservative Hold

Election Graphic

BreakingConservatives hold Epsom & Ewell

Chris Grayling

Epsom and Ewell: What it's like inside the count

Our reporter Peter Stewart has just filed this live update from the count in Epsom and Ewell, where the ballot boxes have started to arrive.

View more on facebook