UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Edward Timpson
    • Votes: 30,095
    • Vote share %: 56.8
    • Vote share change: -0.1
  2. Labour
    Terry Savage
    • Votes: 11,652
    • Vote share %: 22.0
    • Vote share change: -11.6
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Antoinette Sandbach
    • Votes: 9,582
    • Vote share %: 18.1
    • Vote share change: +12.6
  4. Green
    Louise Jewkes
    • Votes: 1,191
    • Vote share %: 2.2
    • Vote share change: +0.7
  5. UKIP
    Andrea Allen
    • Votes: 451
    • Vote share %: 0.9
    • Vote share change: -1.3

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 18,443
  • Registered voters: 73,700
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -1.2

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 56.8%
Labour 22.0%
Liberal Democrat 18.1%
Green 2.2%
UKIP 0.9%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +12.6 Gained
  • Green +0.7 Gained
  • Conservative -0.1 Lost
  • UKIP -1.3 Lost
  • Labour -11.6 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

New Eddisbury MP pledges more schools and hospitals money

Mairead Smyth

Political reporter, BBC Radio Merseyside

The Conservative Party's new MP for Eddisbury Edward Timpson said it was "fantastic" to get "such a strong mandate".

He secured a majority of 18,443 votes and takes over from Antoinette Sandbach, the former Conservative MP who joined the Lib Dems after she was suspended from the party.

View more on twitter

Mr Timpson said he has lived in the south Cheshire area for 30 years and promised more money for schools, hospitals and more help for farmers.

"But first of all, we've got to get Brexit done," he said.

BreakingResult: Conservatives hold Eddisbury

The Conservatives have held Eddisbury where new MP Edward Timpson secured a majority of 18,443 votes.

The seat was previously held by Antoinette Sandbach, who joined the Liberal Democrats earlier this year after she was expelled from the Conservative party for rebelling against Boris Johnson in a bid to prevent a no-deal Brexit.

She received 9,582 votes for the Lib Dems, compared with Mr Timpson's 30,095 for the Conservatives.

Eddisbury: Former MP loses to Conservative candidate

Edward Timpson has been elected MP for Eddisbury, meaning that the Conservative Party holds the seat with an increased majority.

The new MP beat Labour's Terry Savage by 18,443 votes. This was more than Antoinette Sandbach's majority of 11,942 votes at the 2017 general election.

Ms. Sandbach held the seat for the Conservative Party from 2015. In October of this year, she was expelled from the parliamentary party after voting against the government over Brexit.

She joined the Liberal Democrats, but came in third.

The Green Party's Louise Jewkes came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 1.2 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 53,000 people, 71.9% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Two of the five candidates, Louise Jewkes (Green) and Andrea Allen (UKIP) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

RESULT: Tories hold Eddisbury

Edward Timpson has retained Eddisbury for the Conservatives with a majority that has risen from 11,942 to 18,443.

Former MP selected to stand for Tories in Eddisbury

Phil McCann

Cheshire Political Reporter, BBC News

Former Crewe and Nantwich MP Edward Timpson has been selected to stand for the Conservatives in the nearby Cheshire seat of Eddisbury.

Edward Timpson
Conservative Party

Mr Timpson (pictured) represented Crewe and Nantwich for nine years before he was unseated by Labour at the last election by 48 votes.

In Eddisbury, he’ll be up against Antoinette Sandbach who’s standing for the Liberal Democrats after the Tories expelled her from their party for rebelling over Brexit.

The others standing in the seat in December's election are Labour candidate Terry Savage, Nicholas Goulding of the Brexit Party and a Green Party candidate who is yet to be confirmed.

Ex-Tory MP 'subjected to abuse'

Former Conservative MP Antoinette Sandbach, who has joined the Liberal Democrats, said she had considered not standing for re-election.

Antoinette Sandbach,
UK Parliament

The Remain-voting Cheshire MP was among 21 rebels who lost the Tory whip after rebelling against Boris Johnson in a bid to prevent a no-deal Brexit.

She will stand as a Liberal Democrat candidate in her Eddisbury constituency in December's general election.

Speaking to Radio 4's Today programme, she said she had considered not standing for re-election.

"Like many of the MPs that have stood down, I have been subjected to abuse."

"It has been incredibly difficult for my family and for me. But this is a critical time in our nation's history," she said.

No Tory return for Brexit rebel Antoinette Sandbach

BBC Breakfast

An MP who rebelled against Boris Johnson over Brexit says she doesn't expect to have the whip restored before the planned general election in December.

Antoinette Sandbach
UK Parliament

Eddisbury MP Antoinette Sandbach was expelled from the parliamentary Conservative Party along with 20 other Tory MPs after backing efforts to pass legislation to block a no-deal Brexit.

However, she backed Theresa May's Brexit deal with the EU in all three votes on the issue and voted for Boris Johnson's own deal earlier this month.

Yesterday, just before the vote on the prime minister's plan to hold an early general election, Boris Johnson restored the whip to 10 of the former rebels.

They didn't include Ms Sandbach and she's now planning to stand as an independent.

I will be standing in Eddisbury, I think it's very unlikely that I will have the whip returned but I have made a commitment to the local people in Eddisbury, I was elected to represent them but I do believe there should be a proper contest in Eddisbury."

Antoinette SandbachEddisbury MP