UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Caroline Ansell
    • Votes: 26,951
    • Vote share %: 48.9
    • Vote share change: +4.8
  2. Liberal Democrat
    Stephen Lloyd
    • Votes: 22,620
    • Vote share %: 41.0
    • Vote share change: -5.9
  3. Labour
    Jake Lambert
    • Votes: 3,848
    • Vote share %: 7.0
    • Vote share change: -1.2
  4. The Brexit Party
    Stephen Gander
    • Votes: 1,530
    • Vote share %: 2.8
    • Vote share change: +2.8
  5. Independent
    Ken Pollock
    • Votes: 185
    • Vote share %: 0.3
    • Vote share change: +0.3

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 4,331
  • Registered voters: 79,307
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -3.4

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 48.9%
Liberal Democrat 41.0%
Labour 7.0%
The Brexit Party 2.8%
Independent 0.3%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Conservative +4.8 Gained
  • The Brexit Party +2.8 Gained
  • Independent +0.3 Gained
  • Labour -1.2 Lost
  • Liberal Democrat -5.9 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Stranded Britons helped back home

Eastbourne MP Caroline Ansell
Eastbourne MP Caroline Ansell

Eastbourne MP Caroline Ansell said her office has helped bring five people back to the UK from Cyprus and Spain after they were stranded abroad due to coronavirus.

She also said they were helping four other people in New Zealand, as well as one person in Peru and another constituent in Bali.

However, she said she had not received a request from help from Eastbourne’s ex-Liberal Democrat MP Stephen Lloyd who is stuck in New Zealand.

Ms Ansell, the resort’s Conservative MP, said: “Stephen is my constituent and I stand ready to help him, if he would like me to.”

Only Eastbourne changed hands in the 2019 general election.
The Conservative grip tightened on the region, with increased majorities and a seat taken from the Liberal Democrats.

Eastbourne: Conservative gain

Caroline Ansell has been elected as the MP for Eastbourne, beating Liberal Democrat Stephen Lloyd by 4,331 votes.

Eastbourne has been closely fought by the Liberal Democrats and the Conservatives for many years.

Mrs. Ansell and Mr. Lloyd have contested the seat since the 2015 election, when she won with a majority of just 733 votes.

Mr. Lloyd won back the seat in 2017, with a 1,609 vote majority.

In this election, Jake Lambert of the Labour Party came third and the Brexit Party's Stephen Gander came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 3.4 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 55,000 people, 69.5% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Two of the five candidates, Stephen Gander (The Brexit Party) and Ken Pollock (independent) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingEASTBOURNE RESULT: Conservative gain

Caroline Ansell has been elected as MP for Eastbourne, a seat she held between 2015 and 2017, when she lost it to previous Liberal Democrat incumbent Stephen Lloyd, who had a majority of 1,609.

The Conservative majority this time around is over 4,000.

Eastbourne result

Profile: Eastbourne

View more on twitter

The Liberal Democrats and Conservatives will once again be slugging it out over this coastal marginal.

A Conservative stronghold for 72 years, it has changed hands five times since 1990, including at the 2015 and 2017 elections.

Retaken for the Lib Dems by Stephen Lloyd last time, his second spell as MP for the town was marked by him losing his remain-backing party whip when he voted for Theresa May’s deal, and every subsequent deal, including Boris Johnson’s, on the basis that Eastbourne itself voted to leave by 57.5%.

Former teacher Caroline Ansell will be hoping for her own second term as MP for the town in which Theresa May was born, and businesswoman and campaigner Gina Miller went to school.