UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Surrey East

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Claire Coutinho
    • Votes: 35,624
    • Vote share %: 59.7
    • Vote share change: 0.0
  2. Liberal Democrat
    Alex Ehmann
    • Votes: 11,584
    • Vote share %: 19.4
    • Vote share change: +8.9
  3. Labour
    Frances Rehal
    • Votes: 8,247
    • Vote share %: 13.8
    • Vote share change: -5.4
  4. Green
    Joseph Booton
    • Votes: 2,340
    • Vote share %: 3.9
    • Vote share change: +2.1
  5. Independent
    Helena Windsor
    • Votes: 1,374
    • Vote share %: 2.3
    • Vote share change: +2.3
  6. Monster Raving Loony Party
    Martin Hogbin
    • Votes: 521
    • Vote share %: 0.9
    • Vote share change: +0.9

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 24,040
  • Registered voters: 83,148
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -0.4

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 59.7%
Liberal Democrat 19.4%
Labour 13.8%
Green 3.9%
Independent 2.3%
Monster Raving Loony Party 0.9%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +8.9 Gained
  • Independent +2.3 Gained
  • Green +2.1 Gained
  • Monster Raving Loony Party +0.9 Gained
  • Conservative +0.0 Gained
  • Labour -5.4 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Pothole pledge for Budget

Earlier during Treasury questions, the Chancellor said that the UK has an "unbearable" number of potholes.

He's promising there will be more money to tackle them in the Budget - which is going to take place on 11 March.

The pledge came in response to a question from the new Tory MP for East Surrey- Claire Coutinho - who raised the plight of the county for earning an unenviable reputation as the "pothole capital of England", due to heavy good vehicles driving through the area.

"All our constituents would raise the number of potholes being unbearable nowadays," replied Sajid Javid.

"We have have already made clear in our manifesto that we will have the largest fund ever put in place by any government to tackle potholes - and there will be more details at the Budget," he added.

Surrey East: Conservative hold

Claire Coutinho has been elected MP for Surrey East, meaning that the Conservative Party holds the seat with an increased majority.

The new MP beat Liberal Democrat Alex Ehmann by 24,040 votes. This was more than Sam Gyimah’s 23,914 vote majority in the 2017 general election.

Frances Rehal of the Labour Party came third and the Green Party's Joseph Booton came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 0.4 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 60,000 people, 71.8% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Three of the six candidates, Joseph Booton (Green), Helena Windsor (independent) and Martin Hogbin (Monster Raving Loony Party) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingSURREY EAST RESULT: Conservative hold

Claire Coutinho is elected as MP for Surrey East, increasing slightly the majority of her predecessor Sam Gyimah, who defected to the Liberal Democrats.

Surrey East result

Profile: East Surrey

There will be another new face in Parliament for voters here, with their sitting MP Sam Gyimah defecting from both the Conservative party and the constituency.

After three terms as MP for Surrey East, the former investment banker quit the Conservatives after losing the whip, when he voted with 20 other colleagues to vote against the government over Brexit.

He subsequently joined the Liberal Democrats and is now standing for that party in Kensington.

His would-be replacement in Horley, Caterham and the surrounding countryside is Claire Coutinho, another former banker who has also worked as an adviser to the Treasury, and who will be hoping to capitalise on her predecessor’s majority of almost 24,000.

Sam Gyimah
The former investment banker quit the Conservatives after losing the whip

Surrey East: Conservative hold

Election result

General election 2017: How do I register to vote?

Don't get left outside on polling day. Here are details of what you need and where you need to go to register for the general election on 8 June:

The deadline to register is 22 May