UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Labour
    Grahame Morris
    • Votes: 15,723
    • Vote share %: 45.5
    • Vote share change: -18.2
  2. Conservative
    Clare Ambrosino
    • Votes: 9,142
    • Vote share %: 26.4
    • Vote share change: +3.7
  3. The Brexit Party
    Julie Maughan
    • Votes: 6,744
    • Vote share %: 19.5
    • Vote share change: +19.5
  4. Liberal Democrat
    Dominic Haney
    • Votes: 1,526
    • Vote share %: 4.4
    • Vote share change: +3.1
  5. North East Party
    Susan McDonnell
    • Votes: 1,448
    • Vote share %: 4.2
    • Vote share change: -2.3

Change compared with 2017


  • LAB majority: 6,581
  • Registered voters: 61,182
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -1.8

Vote share

Party % share
Labour 45.5%
Conservative 26.4%
The Brexit Party 19.5%
Liberal Democrat 4.4%
North East Party 4.2%

Vote share change since 2017

  • The Brexit Party +19.5 Gained
  • Conservative +3.7 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat +3.1 Gained
  • North East Party -2.3 Lost
  • Labour -18.2 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Easington: Labour hold

Grahame Morris has been re-elected as the MP for Easington, with a decreased majority.

The Labour candidate beat Conservative Clare Ambrosino by 6,581 votes, less than half the majority at the 2017 election.

Julie Maughan of the Brexit Party came third and Liberal Democrat Dominic Haney came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 1.8 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 35,000 people, 56.5% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Two of the five candidates, Dominic Haney (Liberal Democrat) and Susan McDonnell (North East Party) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

Man with turkey hat brightens up Stanley count

Here's a slightly better picture of the festive gentleman we mentioned earlier.

It appears to be a turkey hat on his head - could this be a Friends reference?

Anyway, we approve of the jacket...

View more on twitter

Counting well under way in Stanley

Three County Durham results due around 03:00 GMT.

View more on twitter

MP calls for probe into A19 accidents

An MP has called for an inquiry into the number of accidents on a stretch of the A19 in County Durham.

Easington Labour MP Grahame Morris was responding to a BBC Newcastle Freedom of Information request, which found there were 23 accidents on a nine-mile stretch of the dual carriageway between Seaham and Peterlee in the 12 months to March.

None of the incidents involved fatalities, but Mr Morris said the figures showed improvements are needed to the road.

Grahame Morris

The MP added: "There are costs associated with these incidents, apart from the human tragedies, including those of the emergency services, delays to commuters and the impact on businesses.

"I think we need adequate resources to improve the A19 and I would like to know how cuts to police traffic enforcement has had an impact.

"It seems to me this is a bit of a lethal cocktail."

Transport minister John Hayes said that while accident cluster sites have been identified on the A19 between Testo's roundabout on South Tyneside and Seaham in County Durham, analysis had found driver behaviour to be the primary cause.

Easington: Labour hold

Election Graphic

BreakingResult: Labour win Easington

Labour holds Easington with a win for Grahame Morris.

General election 2017: How do I register to vote?

Don't get left outside on polling day. Here are details of what you need and where you need to go to register for the general election on 8 June:

The deadline to register is 22 May