UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Don Valley

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Nick Fletcher
    • Votes: 19,609
    • Vote share %: 43.2
    • Vote share change: +1.4
  2. Labour
    Caroline Flint
    • Votes: 15,979
    • Vote share %: 35.2
    • Vote share change: -17.8
  3. The Brexit Party
    Paul Whitehurst
    • Votes: 6,247
    • Vote share %: 13.7
    • Vote share change: +13.7
  4. Liberal Democrat
    Mark Alcock
    • Votes: 1,907
    • Vote share %: 4.2
    • Vote share change: +2.3
  5. Green
    Kate Needham
    • Votes: 872
    • Vote share %: 1.9
    • Vote share change: +1.9
  6. The Yorkshire Party
    Chris Holmes
    • Votes: 823
    • Vote share %: 1.8
    • Vote share change: -1.7

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 3,630
  • Registered voters: 75,356
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -1.9

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 43.2%
Labour 35.2%
The Brexit Party 13.7%
Liberal Democrat 4.2%
Green 1.9%
The Yorkshire Party 1.8%

Vote share change since 2017

  • The Brexit Party +13.7 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat +2.3 Gained
  • Green +1.9 Gained
  • Conservative +1.4 Gained
  • The Yorkshire Party -1.7 Lost
  • Labour -17.8 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Yorkshire and Lincolnshire: The winners and losers

With the full results now in from across Yorkshire and Lincolnshire, the big winner in the region is the Conservative party, just as it has been across the country.

PA/Hannah McKay

In total, Boris Johnson's party has gained 10 seats in the region from Labour.

They are:

  • Colne Valley
  • Dewsbury
  • Don Valley
  • Great Grimsby
  • Keighley
  • Penistone and Stocksbridge
  • Rother Valley
  • Scunthorpe
  • Wakefield
  • Lincoln

Analysis: Friday 13th is day Labour will never forget

James Vincent

Political Editor BBC Look North

The ballot boxes and tables have been put away at the Leeds Arena ready for tonight’s gig, a nostalgic night called We Love the Nineties.

Labour rosette

Yorkshire Labour supporters might be forgiven for desperately hoping they could go back to victories like 1997.

Saying Labour did badly here doesn’t really cut it. People in parts of Rotherham and Doncaster now have a Conservative MP for the first time in their constituency’s history.

The West Yorkshire seats we talk about being an indication of the national election picture were always going to be tough. Four of them went.

But further south, three more communities kicked Labour out.

Rother Valley is made of former mining villages. It’s been Labour since 1918.

Don Valley surrounds the town where railway workers created the Labour movement.

Half of Penistone and Stocksbridge only exists because it was formed around the steelworks.

These are Labour areas. But not anymore.

This Brexit election turned things around. The view here on the Labour leadership also made the party feel less connected to its roots.

The 12 December election returned results on a Friday the 13th the party will never forget.

Yorkshire and Lincolnshire: Winners and losers

All 61 results are now in from across Yorkshire and Lincolnshire and the big winner locally is the Conservative party, just as it has been across the country.

A Conservative rosette
Daniel Leal-Olivas/PA Media

In total, Boris Johnson's party has gained ten seats in the region from Labour.

They are:

  • Colne Valley
  • Dewsbury
  • Don Valley
  • Great Grimsby
  • Keighley
  • Penistone and Stocksbridge
  • Rother Valley
  • Scunthorpe
  • Wakefield
  • Lincoln

A number of ousted Labour candidates, including Caroline Flint and Mary Creagh, blamed the party's failure to listen to people's views on Brexit for their demise.

'What's the point if we don't respect working class'

Ousted Labour candidate Caroline Flint, who was MP for Don Valley, has questioned the Labour Party's ethos after she lost her seat to Conservative candidate Nick Fletcher:

View more on twitter

Don Valley: Conservative gain

Nick Fletcher has been elected as the MP for Don Valley, beating Labour's Caroline Flint by 3,630 votes.

The Conservative Party overturned a 5,169 vote majority to take the formerly Labour-held seat.

Paul Whitehurst of the Brexit Party came third and Liberal Democrat Mark Alcock came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 1.9 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 45,000 people, 60.3% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Three of the six candidates, Mark Alcock (Liberal Democrat), Kate Needham (Green) and Chris Holmes (The Yorkshire Party) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

New Don Valley MP on 'historic occasion'

Newly elected Conservative MP Nick Fletcher has described his victory in Don Valley as an "historic occasion" after wresting the seat from Labour control for the first time since 1922.

View more on twitter

Mr Fletcher became the first Conservative MP for the constituency after securing 19,609 votes, with Labour's Caroline Flint coming second with 15,979.

He said: "It's truly an historic occasion here in Doncaster.

"This seat has been a Labour seat since 1922. This is the most humbling experience and I'm honoured to be given this opportunity."

BreakingDon Valley: Conservative win

Conservative candidate Nick Fletcher has been elected as MP for Don Valley.