UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Coventry South

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Labour
    Zarah Sultana
    • Votes: 19,544
    • Vote share %: 43.4
    • Vote share change: -11.7
  2. Conservative
    Mattie Heaven
    • Votes: 19,143
    • Vote share %: 42.5
    • Vote share change: +4.4
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Stephen Richmond
    • Votes: 3,398
    • Vote share %: 7.5
    • Vote share change: +4.7
  4. The Brexit Party
    James Crocker
    • Votes: 1,432
    • Vote share %: 3.2
    • Vote share change: +3.2
  5. Green
    Becky Finlayson
    • Votes: 1,092
    • Vote share %: 2.4
    • Vote share change: +1.1
  6. Independent
    Ed Manning
    • Votes: 435
    • Vote share %: 1.0
    • Vote share change: +1.0

Change compared with 2017


  • LAB majority: 401
  • Registered voters: 70,979
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -3.0

Vote share

Party % share
Labour 43.4%
Conservative 42.5%
Liberal Democrat 7.5%
The Brexit Party 3.2%
Green 2.4%
Independent 1.0%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +4.7 Gained
  • Conservative +4.4 Gained
  • The Brexit Party +3.2 Gained
  • Green +1.1 Gained
  • Independent +1.0 Gained
  • Labour -11.7 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

MP wants Parliament to make itself 'more relevant'


Coventry South Labour MP Zarah Sultana claims Parliament must change to become more relevant.

She said language was very important to that and explained: "If we really want to relate to people and if we want to be accessible, then we need to be talking the way people talk.

Zarah Sultana

Ms Sultana succeeded Jim Cunningham in December's general election.

She added: "There's a lot of people who feel like Parliament and politics is something beyond their reach. That it's something that they need to study a degree to understand. And that's absolutely not the case."

New MP 'coming for Westminster'

And it's not just a fresh take of Conservatives.

New MP for Coventry South Zarah Sultana tweeted earlier on her first day in Parliament.

View more on twitter

New MP voted in after 'visible' campaign

New Coventry South MP Zarah Sultana admtted it would be "hard" as a newcomer, after she won for Labour with a majority of 401, compared to nearly 8,000 last time.

Zarah Sultana

She claimed the win with 19,544 votes and told the Local Democracy Reporting Service: "Jim Cunningham has been there for over 25 years so I knew as a newcomer it would be hard.

"But from the start we had a grassroots campaign that worked and was visible on the streets. The cases I feel really passionate about in particular is working on the Grenfell United Campaign.

"Scrapping universal credit is something I firmly believe in. I have seen the hurt it has inflicted on people, on food banks and the homeless."

Ms Sultana apologised earlier this year for saying on social media she would "celebrate" the deaths of world leaders, including Tony Blair.

Second-placed Tory candidate Mattie Heaven added: "I am proud of the team. But we have got 19,143 unsatisfied residents in Coventry South who will not tolerate Labour."

Coventry South: Labour hold

Zarah Sultana has been elected MP for Coventry South, meaning that the Labour Party holds the seat with a decreased majority.

The new MP beat Conservative Mattie Heaven by 401 votes. This was less than a quarter James Cunningham’s 7,947 vote majority in the 2017 general election.

Stephen Richmond of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Brexit Party's James Crocker came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 3 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 45,000 people, 63.5% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Three of the six candidates, James Crocker (the Brexit Party), Becky Finlayson (Green) and Ed Manning (independent) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingResult: Labour hold Coventry South

Labour have held Coventry South with Zarah Sultana becoming a new MP with a majority of 401, compared to 7,947 last time.

Conservative Mattie Heaven was second.

Ms Sultana apologised earlier this year for saying on social media she would "celebrate" the deaths of world leaders, including Tony Blair.

Zarah Sultana

Labour candidates chosen to fight long-held seats

A pharmacist from London has been selected to be Labour's prospective parliamentary candidate for Coventry North West.

It follows concerns voiced by retiring MP Geoffrey Robinson that the campaign to select a successor had been "shambolic and underhand".

He said some local party members were concerned a Labour candidate would be parachuted in from London.

Taiwo Owatemi beat local union rep Des Arthur in a vote on Saturday.

View more on twitter

Unite union rep Zarah Sultana (pictured center in red), from Birmingham, was chosen by local party members to contest neighbouring Coventry South seat, held by 78-year-old MP Jim Cunningham for Labour since 1992.

Labour party members
Zarah Sultana

Nominations for the 12 December general election close on 14 November, after which a full list of candidates for other parties will be published on the BBC's Coventry North West and Coventry South constituency webpages.

Labour party produces Coventry candidate shortlist

BBC Coventry & Warwickshire

The four people bidding to stand for the Labour party in the forthcoming general election in Coventry will know whether they've been successful by the end of the week.

Tomorrow, Labour members in Coventry South will choose between Neeraj Patil, a GP and former mayor of Lambeth, and Zarah Sultana, a West Midlands Labour party organiser.

Ballot box

On Saturday, Coventry North West members will get to choose between Des Arthur, a trade unionist and former Coventry postman and Taiwo Owatemi, a pharmacist from London.

They'll be standing in constituencies held by Labour MPs Jim Cunningham and Geoffrey Robinson, who have both decided not to stand again.