UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 318 262 35 12 10 13
Change −13 +30 −21 +4 +2 −2
UK Results

After 650 of 650 seats

Coventry North West

Parliamentary constituency


General Election 2017 results
Party Votes % Net percentage change in seats



Geoffrey Robinson Votes 26,894 header_vote_share 54.0 Net percentage change in seats +12.9



Resham Kotecha Votes 18,314 header_vote_share 36.7 Net percentage change in seats +5.7



Michael Gee Votes 1,525 header_vote_share 3.1 Net percentage change in seats -12.6


Liberal Democrat

Andrew Hilton Votes 1,286 header_vote_share 2.6 Net percentage change in seats -1.4



Ciaran Norris Votes 1,164 header_vote_share 2.3 Net percentage change in seats +2.3


Green Party

Stephen Gray Votes 666 header_vote_share 1.3 Net percentage change in seats -3.0

Turnout and LAB majority

LAB majority




Vote share

Party %
Labour 54.0
Conservative 36.7
UKIP 3.1
Liberal Democrat 2.6
Independent 2.3
Green Party 1.3

Vote share change since 2015

Liberal Democrat
Green Party

Latest updates

Brexit: EU repeal bill wins first Commons vote

The government's bid to extract the UK from EU law in time for Brexit has passed its first parliamentary test.

MPs backed the EU Withdrawal Bill by 326 votes to 290 despite critics warning that it represented a "power grab" by ministers.

More than 100 MPs had their say during the two-day second reading debate, including Labour's MP for Coventry North West, Geoffrey Robinson, who was heavily critical of the bill.

MPs debating Brexit bill

Clearly the bill is full of faults, defects and inadequacies that have got to be put right. The government says to trust us - we'll put them right - and we will bring back and you will see at the end of the process we'll have a bill that will meet the needs of, and guarantee the support of the House. I say no to that."

Geoffrey Robinson MPLabour, Coventry North West

'Shy Corbynites' could be behind Labour boost

Conservative Rashem Kotecha, who failed to take the Coventry North West seat said the fact Labour did better than expected in the election may be down to "shy Corbynites."

Rashem Kotecha

"We've had election after election, the UK, Trump Brexit where we've had results people weren't expecting," she said.

"We had shy Tories last time, maybe we had shy Corbynites this time... I don't know."

Video: Labour hold onto all three seats in Coventry

Joan Cummins

Midlands Today reporter

There were wins for Geoffrey Robinson (Coventry North West), Jim Cunningham (Coventry South) and Colleen Fletcher (Coventry North East).

General election 2017: Labour hold three Coventry seats

Coventry North West MP 'puzzled' by his own result

Geoffrey Robinson, who held onto the Coventry North West seat said he was "puzzled" that he had retained the seat with an increased majority, and "wouldn't have believed" the result five weeks ago.

View more on twitter

It's very difficult to predict in the circumstances like the present. I was puzzled, of course I was, but I was puzzled by the Brexit vote. I was amazed by the Trump vote, and other things have amazed me recently.

Geoffrey RobinsonLabour MP, Coventry North West

BreakingCoventry North West: Labour hold

Geoffrey Robinson held the Coventry North West seat with 26,894 votes.

Coventry North West: Labour hold

Result graphic

Coventry's election candidates

The full list of candidates for each parliamentary constituency in Coventry and Warwickshire has been released.  

Coventry City Council  tweeted a link to the candidates for the three city seats.

View more on twitter

General election 2017: How do I register to vote?

Don't get left outside on polling day. Here are details of what you need and where you need to go to register for the general election on 8 June:

The deadline to register is 22 May


, with candidate Geoffrey Robinson
, have the following results:
  • 18,557 total votes taken.
  • 41.0% share of the total vote
  • -1.8% change in share of the votes
, with candidate Parvez Akhtar
, have the following results:
  • 14,048 total votes taken.
  • 31.0% share of the total vote
  • +1.7% change in share of the votes
, with candidate Harjinder Sehmi
, have the following results:
  • 7,101 total votes taken.
  • 15.7% share of the total vote
  • +12.9% change in share of the votes
Green Party
, with candidate Laura Vesty
, have the following results:
  • 1,961 total votes taken.
  • 4.3% share of the total vote
  • +3.3% change in share of the votes
Liberal Democrat
, with candidate Andrew Furse
, have the following results:
  • 1,810 total votes taken.
  • 4.0% share of the total vote
  • -13.9% change in share of the votes
, with candidate Dave Nellist
, have the following results:
  • 1,769 total votes taken.
  • 3.9% share of the total vote
  • +3.9% change in share of the votes

Change compared with 2010

Back to top