UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Fiona Bruce
    • Votes: 33,747
    • Vote share %: 59.0
    • Vote share change: +2.4
  2. Labour
    Jo Dale
    • Votes: 15,186
    • Vote share %: 26.5
    • Vote share change: -7.6
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Paul Duffy
    • Votes: 6,026
    • Vote share %: 10.5
    • Vote share change: +5.4
  4. Green
    Richard McCarthy
    • Votes: 1,616
    • Vote share %: 2.8
    • Vote share change: +1.0
  5. Animal Welfare Party
    Jane Smith
    • Votes: 658
    • Vote share %: 1.1
    • Vote share change: +1.1

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 18,561
  • Registered voters: 80,930
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -2.6

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 59.0%
Labour 26.5%
Liberal Democrat 10.5%
Green 2.8%
Animal Welfare Party 1.1%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +5.4 Gained
  • Conservative +2.4 Gained
  • Animal Welfare Party +1.1 Gained
  • Green +1.0 Gained
  • Labour -7.6 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Tory MPs split over Dominic Cummings row

Boris Johnson will be questioned by senior MPs later amid continued calls for his top adviser to resign which has split opinion among his own party's MPs.

Dominic Cummings
PA Media

The prime minister will appear before the Commons Liaison Committee for 90 minutes, during which he will be asked about Dominic Cummings's controversial lockdown trip to County Durham.

More than 35 Tory MPs have called for Mr Cummings to resign or be fired after his 260-mile journey came to light

The Conservative MP for Congleton Fiona Bruce released a statement last night saying her constituents are "entitled to feel badly let down" by the actions of Mr Cummings but didn't say he should go.

But Birmingham Northfield Conservative MP Gary Sambrook questioned whether the public care about the issue as much as the media.

"I've had emails which constitute less than half a percent of my total constituents. Yes the vast majority of those emails are against what Mr Cummings did but there's no way of really assessing public mood," he said.

Congleton: Conservative hold

Fiona Bruce, Tory MP for Congleton since 2010, has won re-election with an increased majority.

The Conservative MP beat Labour's Jo Dale by 18,561 votes, 5,942 more votes than the majority at the 2017 election.

Paul Duffy of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Green Party's Richard McCarthy came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 2.6 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 57,000 people, 70.7% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Two of the five candidates, Mr McCarthy and Jane Smith (Animal Welfare Party), lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

RESULT: Conservatives hold Congleton

Fiona Bruce has been re-elected as Conservative MP for Congleton increasing her majority from 12,619 to 18,561.

BreakingResult: Conservatives hold Congleton

Fiona Bruce has been re-elected as the Conservative MP for Congleton, increasing her 2017 majority of 12,619 votes to 18,561.

Ms Bruce has been the constituency's MP since 2010, and the seat has been held by the Conservatives since it was created in 1983.

Congleton: Conservative hold

Election graphic

General Election: Candidates vying to be your local MP

Stephanie Barnard

BBC Local Live

Here's a full list of the people vying to be a local MP in Congleton, Crewe and Nantwich, Eddisbury Burton, Lichfield and Newcastle;


  • Fiona Bruce - Conservative
  • Sam Corcoran - Labour
  • Mark Davies - UKIP
  • Alexander Heath - Greens
  • Peter Hirst - Liberal Democrat

Crewe and Nantwich

  • David Crowther - Liberal Democrat
  • Laura Smith - Labour
  • Michael Stanley - UKIP
  • Edward Timpson - Conservative


  • John Bickley - UKIP
  • Mark Green - Green
  • Morgan Hill - Pirate Party
  • Ian Priestner - Liberal Democrat
  • Cathy Reynolds - Labour
  • Antoinette Sandbach - Conservative


  • Andrew Griffiths - Conservative
  • Simon Hales - Green
  • Dominic Hardwick - Liberal Democrat
  • John McKiernan - Labour


  • Michael Fabricant - Conservative
  • Robert Pass - Greens
  • Paul Ray - Liberal Democrats
  • Chris Worsey - Labour


  • Paul Farrelly - Labour
  • Nigel Jones - Liberal Democrat
  • Owen Meredith - Conservative

General election 2017: How do I register to vote?

Don't get left outside on polling day. Here are details of what you need and where you need to go to register for the general election on 8 June:

The deadline to register is 22 May