UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Chingford & Woodford Green

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Iain Duncan Smith
    • Votes: 23,481
    • Vote share %: 48.5
    • Vote share change: -0.7
  2. Labour
    Faiza Shaheen
    • Votes: 22,219
    • Vote share %: 45.9
    • Vote share change: +1.9
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Geoff Seeff
    • Votes: 2,744
    • Vote share %: 5.7
    • Vote share change: +1.3

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 1,262
  • Registered voters: 65,393
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: +2.9

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 48.5%
Labour 45.9%
Liberal Democrat 5.7%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Labour +1.9 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat +1.3 Gained
  • Conservative -0.7 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Chingford & Woodford Green: Conservative hold

Iain Duncan Smith has been re-elected as the MP for Chingford & Woodford Green, with a significantly decreased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Labour's Faiza Shaheen by 1,262 votes, 1,176 votes less than the majority at the 2017 election.

Geoff Seeff of the Liberal Democrats came third.

Voter turnout was up by 2.9 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 48,000 people, roughly three-quarters of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

All three candidates keep their deposits, after receiving more than 5% of the votes.

This story was created using some automation.

Iain Duncan Smith holds seat

Iain Duncan Smith

Former Conservative leader Iain Duncan Smith has held on to his seat.

Mr Duncan Smith has been MP for Chingford and Woodford Green since 1992 but saw his majority reduced to 1,200 votes.

The Green Party stood down its candidate to help Labour try to unseat Mr Duncan Smith.

Faiza Shaheen, who is seen as a rising star of the Labour Party, got 22,219 votes.

All ballot boxes ready in Walthamstow

Walthamstow Town Hall at 2318 that all ballot boxes have arrived

All ballot boxes have arrived at Walthamstow Town Hall, where three west London constituencies will be decided.

Walthamstow, currently held by Labour's Stella Creasy, Leyton and Wanstead held by Labour's John Cryer, and former Conservatie Leader Iain Duncan Smith's seat of Chingford and Woodford Green.

General election 2019 night: What, where, when? Key times to watch out for
What results to look out for, and when, on election night with BBC Electioncast's Adam Fleming.

Chingford & Woodford: Conservative hold

Result graphic

General election 2017: How do I register to vote?

Don't get left outside on polling day. Here are details of what you need and where you need to go to register for the general election on 8 June:

The deadline to register is 22 May