UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Chesham & Amersham

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Cheryl Gillan
    • Votes: 30,850
    • Vote share %: 55.4
    • Vote share change: -5.3
  2. Liberal Democrat
    Dan Gallagher
    • Votes: 14,627
    • Vote share %: 26.3
    • Vote share change: +13.3
  3. Labour
    Matt Turmaine
    • Votes: 7,166
    • Vote share %: 12.9
    • Vote share change: -7.7
  4. Green
    Alan Booth
    • Votes: 3,042
    • Vote share %: 5.5
    • Vote share change: +2.5

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 16,223
  • Registered voters: 72,542
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -0.3

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 55.4%
Liberal Democrat 26.3%
Labour 12.9%
Green 5.5%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +13.3 Gained
  • Green +2.5 Gained
  • Conservative -5.3 Lost
  • Labour -7.7 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

If you're just joining us...

There are four new MPs in Buckinghamshire, but no change to party representation.

  • Former Tory Dominic Grieve lost his seat after running as an independent in Beaconsfield. He was booted out of the Conservative Party earlier this year after he backed a bill to try to stop a no-deal Brexit. Beaten by the new Tory candidate Joy Morrissey, who won with 32,477 votes, he still won the support of more than 16,000 voters
  • In Buckingham, the former Speaker of the House of Commons' seat has been won by Conservative Greg Smith, beating Liberal Democrat Stephen Dorrell by 20,411 votes. John Bercow was elected as a Conservative for the first time in 1997, but resigned from the party when he became Speaker in 2009
  • Conservative Steve Baker has retained his seat in Wycombe but with a significantly decreased majority, down from 12.3% to 7.7%
  • New MP Rob Butler has held Aylesbury for the Conservatives with an increased majority after David Lidlington stood down earlier this year.
  • Cheryl Gillan has been re-elected as the Conservative MP for Chesham & Amersham, with a decreased majority
  • In Milton Keynes, Iain Stewart has been re-elected as the Conservative MP for Milton Keynes South and the Conservatives also held Milton Keynes North with Ben Everitt becoming the newly elected MP after Mark Lancaster stood down

Chesham & Amersham: Conservative hold

Cheryl Gillan has been re-elected as the MP for Chesham & Amersham, with a decreased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Liberal Democrat Dan Gallagher by 16,223 votes, 5,917 votes less than the majority at the 2017 election.

Matt Turmaine of the Labour Party came third and the Green Party's Alan Booth came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 0.3 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 56,000 people, roughly three-quarters of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

All four candidates keep their deposits, after receiving more than 5% of the votes.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingChesham and Amersham: Conservative hold

Cheryl Gillan has been re-elected as the Conservative MP for Chesham and Amersham.

Chesham & Amersham: Conservative hold

Election Graphic

Chesham stays blue

Toby Friedner

BBC Three Counties Radio

The longest serving female Tory MP, Cheryl Gillan, still has a job.

She's won with 33,514 votes - that's an increase of 2,376 votes on 2015.

Here's the full breakdown:

  • Cheryl Gillian: Con 33,514
  • Nina Dluzewska: Lab 11,374
  • Peter Jones: LD 7,179
  • Alan Booth: Green 1,660
  • David Meacock: UKIP 1,525
Conservatives in Chesham

BreakingConservatives hold in Chesham

Cheryl Gillan (Con) holds Chesham and Amersham with 33,514 votes.

Chesham & Amersham: Constituency analysis

Andy Holmes

BBC Three Counties Radio political reporter

Cheryl Gillan is the longest serving female Conservative MP, having been MP for Chesham and Amersham since 1992.

Cheryl Gillan
Conservative Party

In that election she won with a majority of more than 22,000 in a seat that has been Tory since its creation in 1974, and has consistently held a decent majority ever since, culminating in a 23,920 lead in 2015.

In 2017, she's been facing opposition from Labour, the Lib Dems, the Greens and UKIP, with the UKIP candidate being former Tory councillor David Meacock, who defected to the party in 2013

UKIP finished second in 2015, whilst Meacock was third in the nearby Wycombe constituency.

General election 2017: How do I register to vote?

Don't get left outside on polling day. Here are details of what you need and where you need to go to register for the general election on 8 June:

The deadline to register is 22 May