UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Greg Smith
    • Votes: 37,035
    • Vote share %: 58.4
    • Vote share change: -6.7
  2. Liberal Democrat
    Stephen Dorrell
    • Votes: 16,624
    • Vote share %: 26.2
    • Vote share change: +26.2
  3. Labour
    David Morgan
    • Votes: 7,638
    • Vote share %: 12.0
    • Vote share change: +12.0
  4. The Brexit Party
    Andrew Bell
    • Votes: 1,286
    • Vote share %: 2.0
    • Vote share change: +2.0
  5. Independent
    Ned Thompson
    • Votes: 681
    • Vote share %: 1.1
    • Vote share change: +1.1
  6. English Democrats
    Antonio Vitiello
    • Votes: 194
    • Vote share %: 0.3
    • Vote share change: +0.3

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 20,411
  • Registered voters: 83,146
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: +10.2

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 58.4%
Liberal Democrat 26.2%
Labour 12.0%
The Brexit Party 2.0%
Independent 1.1%
English Democrats 0.3%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +26.2 Gained
  • Labour +12.0 Gained
  • The Brexit Party +2.0 Gained
  • Independent +1.1 Gained
  • English Democrats +0.3 Gained
  • Conservative -6.7 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

How the Buckinghamshire media is reporting the election

The Bucks Free Press is reflecting Tory Steve Baker's win in Wycombe with a significantly reduced majority. The MP, who has represented the constituency for nine years, told the paper it had been a "chastening campaign" due to his constituents views on Brexit, but he was "very pleased" with the result.

Buckingham's new MP Greg Smith has told The Bucks Herald of his "pledge to be a relentlessly local MP rolling up my sleeves and getting things done for this area". The Conservative, who has replaced the former House of Commons Speaker John Bercow, said it would be a "big challenge" to stop HS2 but thinks he can "prove the business case is not there".

The MK Citizen is reporting how the Conservatives won both Milton Keynes seats. Iain Stewart held his seat in Milton Keynes South and in Milton Keynes North, new MP Ben Everitt, who retained the seat for the Conservatives after Mark Lancaster retired, said he has a “huge passion and vision for the future of MK” which he called a “wonderful new city".

If you're just joining us...

There are four new MPs in Buckinghamshire, but no change to party representation.

  • Former Tory Dominic Grieve lost his seat after running as an independent in Beaconsfield. He was booted out of the Conservative Party earlier this year after he backed a bill to try to stop a no-deal Brexit. Beaten by the new Tory candidate Joy Morrissey, who won with 32,477 votes, he still won the support of more than 16,000 voters
  • In Buckingham, the former Speaker of the House of Commons' seat has been won by Conservative Greg Smith, beating Liberal Democrat Stephen Dorrell by 20,411 votes. John Bercow was elected as a Conservative for the first time in 1997, but resigned from the party when he became Speaker in 2009
  • Conservative Steve Baker has retained his seat in Wycombe but with a significantly decreased majority, down from 12.3% to 7.7%
  • New MP Rob Butler has held Aylesbury for the Conservatives with an increased majority after David Lidlington stood down earlier this year.
  • Cheryl Gillan has been re-elected as the Conservative MP for Chesham & Amersham, with a decreased majority
  • In Milton Keynes, Iain Stewart has been re-elected as the Conservative MP for Milton Keynes South and the Conservatives also held Milton Keynes North with Ben Everitt becoming the newly elected MP after Mark Lancaster stood down

Buckingham: Former Speaker's seat won by Conservatives

Greg Smith has been elected as the MP for Buckingham, beating Liberal Democrat Stephen Dorrell by 20,411 votes.

The Conservative candidate's majority was lower than his predecessor, the former Speaker of the House of Commons, John Bercow, who had a 25,725 vote majority at the 2017 general election.

Mr Bercow was elected as a Conservative for the first time in 1997, but resigned from the party when he became Speaker in 2009.

David Morgan of the Labour Party came third and the Brexit Party's Andrew Bell came fourth.

Voter turnout was up by 10.2 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 63,000 people, roughly three-quarters of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Three of the six candidates, Andrew Bell (Brexit Party), Ned Thompson (independent) and Antonio Vitiello (English Democrats) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingBuckingham: Conservative hold

Greg Smith is the newly elected Conservative MP for Buckingham. The town's former MP and Speaker of the House of Commons John Bercow retired last month.

End of an era in Buckingham as speaker departs

Nic Rigby

BBC News

This election has seen the retirement from parliament of one of the most colourful and controversial speakers of recent years, John Bercow (pictured).

John Bercow
PA Media

After 22 years representing Buckingham, his departure also means that, for the first time in more than a decade, people living in his constituency will get to take part in a proper election.

In the last two elections, the mainstream parties chose not to field candidates, an unwritten rule in whichever seat the speaker sits in, although that did not stop Nigel Farage putting up a UKIP candidate in 2010.

Even before Bercow’s elevation, this seat has been Conservative since the 1960s so Greg Smith, the Tory candidate, will fancy his chances first time out. His wife is expecting their child in January.

That said, the Lib Dems, on paper, have a strong challenger in the shape of former Tory Health Minister Stephen Dorrell.

Analysis: General Election in Buckinghamshire

Andy Holmes

BBC Three Counties Radio political reporter

Historically,Buckinghamshire is a strong Conservative county and there’s a good chance that will remain the same following tonight's counts.

Muddying the waters, though, are seats like Beaconsfield, where former Tory Dominic Grieve (pictured) stands as an Independent after losing his place in the party over Brexit.

Dominic Grieve

Elsewhere, the Milton Keynes seats were fairly tight in 2017, with Conservatives holding both, but by under 2,000 votes, and both Labour candidates from last time will stand again in a town that has a Labour-led council.

There’s also interest in Aylesbury, Buckingham and Milton Keynes North, with the standing MPs choosing not to seek re-election this time, meaning at least three fresh faces heading to Westminster.

Speaker reveals a-mew-sing cat name in Parliament

Katy Lewis

BBC Local Live

The House of Commons speaker has revealed that he's got a cat named after his most famous expression.

John Bercow

Buckingham MP John Bercow told the lower chamber today that the feline is called Order.

The disclosure followed a suggestion from Conservative MP Rebecca Pow that he should get involved in the Parliamentary Dog of the Year competition.

"I wasn't proposing to enter myself, and I don't have a dog, we have a cat called Order [and] my son has a tortoise," he said.

Presumably, he feels the need to practice the phrase by calling his pet in for dinner or on other occasions?