UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 318 262 35 12 10 13
Change −13 +30 −21 +4 +2 −2
UK Results

After 650 of 650 seats


Parliamentary constituency


General Election 2017 results
Party Votes % Net percentage change in seats



Charles Walker Votes 29,515 header_vote_share 62.2 Net percentage change in seats +6.1



Selina Norgrove Votes 13,723 header_vote_share 28.9 Net percentage change in seats +10.5



Tony Faulkner Votes 1,918 header_vote_share 4.0 Net percentage change in seats -15.7


Liberal Democrat

Andy Graham Votes 1,481 header_vote_share 3.1 Net percentage change in seats -0.1


Green Party

Tabitha Evans Votes 848 header_vote_share 1.8 Net percentage change in seats -0.9

Turnout and CON majority

CON majority




Vote share

Party %
Conservative 62.2
Labour 28.9
UKIP 4.0
Liberal Democrat 3.1
Green Party 1.8

Vote share change since 2015

Liberal Democrat
Green Party

Latest updates

UKIP's failure to field candidates boosts two leading parties

Patrick Byrne

BBC News

UKIP failed to field candidates in several Hertfordshire constituencies, and after its leader Paul Nuttall resigned after a "woeful showing" overall, he said: "A new era must begin with a new leader."

Stevenage was a close-run contest with Conservative Stephen McPartland retaining the seat with 50.3% of the vote including a 5.7% increase in support.

In second place was Labour's Sharon Taylor with 43.4% of the vote, boosted by a 9.2% increase.

Conservative Mark Prisk held on to Hertford and Stortford, boosting his party's support by 4.2% to take 60.3% of the vote share, leaving Labour trailing on 28.6% despite a 10.7% boost in its support.

In Broxbourne Conservative Charles Walker took 62.2% of the vote with Labour's Selina Norgrove on 28.9% after a 10.75% boost to her share, while UKIP slumped by 15.7% to leave it with only 4%, slightly ahead of the Lib Dems on 3.1%.

In St Albans Conservative Anne Main held on to the seat with 43.1% of the vote from the Lib Dems' Daisy Cooper on 32.4%.

It's a 'weird' night - Charles Walker

Andy Holmes

BBC Three Counties Radio political reporter

As expected - a win for Charles Walker in Broxbourne, in the safest Tory seat in Hertfordshire.

However, his majority is marginally down on 2015, and it's Labour that have gained more of the lost UKIP votes from 2015.

Mr Walker described the night as "weird".

He says he "took nothing for granted" and is "delighted" with his win.

He also praised Labour's Selena Norgrove for leading a "very energetic campaign".

Election map

First result is in: Conservatives hold Broxbourne

Alex Pope

BBC Local Live

Charles Walker has taken the first seat in the three counties.

He won with 29,515 votes, which is up from 25,797 in 2015.

Selina Norgrove got 13,723 votes for Labour, Tony Faulkner for UKIP 1,918, Andy Graham for Liberal Democrats 1,481 and 848 for Tabitha Evans for the Greens.

View more on twitter

BreakingCharles Walker holds Broxbourne

Charles Walker (Con) has held Broxbourne with 29,515 votes.

More to come.

Broxbourne: Conservative hold

Result graphic

Broxbourne: Constituency analysis

Andy Holmes

BBC Three Counties Radio political reporter

Rated as the safest seat in Hertfordshire, Broxbourne has been under the Tories control since it was formed in 1983.

Charles Walker has been the MP for the constituency since 2005 and brings a majority of 16,723 with him into the 2017 election.

In 2015, second placed UKIP did cut his majority down from almost 19,000 in 2010, and they’ll again be in the race for the seat this time, along with the Lib Dems, Labour and the Greens.

Prior to 2015, Labour have a history of being runners up in the seat, going back as far as 1992.

General election 2017: How do I register to vote?

Don't get left outside on polling day. Here are details of what you need and where you need to go to register for the general election on 8 June:

The deadline to register is 22 May


, with candidate Charles Walker
, have the following results:
  • 25,797 total votes taken.
  • 56.1% share of the total vote
  • -2.7% change in share of the votes
, with candidate David Platt
, have the following results:
  • 9,074 total votes taken.
  • 19.7% share of the total vote
  • +15.6% change in share of the votes
, with candidate Edward Robinson
, have the following results:
  • 8,470 total votes taken.
  • 18.4% share of the total vote
  • +0.8% change in share of the votes
Liberal Democrat
, with candidate Anthony Rowlands
, have the following results:
  • 1,467 total votes taken.
  • 3.2% share of the total vote
  • -10.2% change in share of the votes
Green Party
, with candidate Russell Secker
, have the following results:
  • 1,216 total votes taken.
  • 2.6% share of the total vote
  • +2.6% change in share of the votes

Change compared with 2010

Back to top