UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Brighton Pavilion

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Green
    Caroline Lucas
    • Votes: 33,151
    • Vote share %: 57.2
    • Vote share change: +4.9
  2. Labour
    Adam Imanpour
    • Votes: 13,211
    • Vote share %: 22.8
    • Vote share change: -4.0
  3. Conservative
    Emma Hogan
    • Votes: 10,176
    • Vote share %: 17.5
    • Vote share change: -1.7
  4. The Brexit Party
    Richard Milton
    • Votes: 770
    • Vote share %: 1.3
    • Vote share change: +1.3
  5. Monster Raving Loony Party
    Citizen Skwith
    • Votes: 301
    • Vote share %: 0.5
    • Vote share change: +0.5
  6. Independent
    Bob Dobbs
    • Votes: 212
    • Vote share %: 0.4
    • Vote share change: +0.4
  7. UKIP
    Nigel Furness
    • Votes: 177
    • Vote share %: 0.3
    • Vote share change: -0.8

Change compared with 2017


  • GRN majority: 19,940
  • Registered voters: 79,057
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -3.1

Vote share

Party % share
Green 57.2%
Labour 22.8%
Conservative 17.5%
The Brexit Party 1.3%
Monster Raving Loony Party 0.5%
Independent 0.4%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Green +4.9 Gained
  • The Brexit Party +1.3 Gained
  • Monster Raving Loony Party +0.5 Gained
  • Independent +0.4 Gained
  • Conservative -1.7 Lost
  • Labour -4.0 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Record number of female MPs elected

A record number of female MPs have been elected to the House of Commons following the General Election.

Some 220 women won seats in the 2019 poll - up from 208 two years ago.

Across Surrey, Sussex and Kent, 15 constituencies are now represented by female MPs.

That includes Rosie Duffield in Canterbury, who held on to her seat for Labour with an increased majority.

Other female MPs to hold their seats were Conservatives Maria Caulfield in Lewes and Tracey Crouch in Chatham and Aylesford, and Green Party MP Caroline Lucas in Brighton Pavilion.

Charlie Elphicke and Natalie Elphicke at the count in Dover
Natalie Elphicke will take over from her husband Charlie Elphicke in Dover

Among the new female MPs is Natalie Elphicke in Dover.

The wife of the constituency's former Tory MP Charlie Elphicke successfully stood for election in his place - and nearly doubled his majority from 6,437 to 12,278.

In Eastbourne the town's former Conservative MP, Caroline Ansell, took the constituency back from Lib Dem Stephen Lloyd. She had lost the seat to him in 2017.

But nationally, men will still considerably outnumber women - with female MPs representing 34% of the Commons.

Only Eastbourne changed hands in the 2019 general election.
The Conservative grip tightened on the region, with increased majorities and a seat taken from the Liberal Democrats.

Brighton Pavilion: Green hold

Caroline Lucas has been re-elected as the MP for Brighton Pavilion, with an increased majority.

The Green's only UK MP beat Labour's Adam Imanpour by 19,940 votes, 5,241 more votes than the majority at the 2017 election.

Emma Hogan of the Conservative Party came third and the Brexit Party's Richard Milton came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 3.1 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 58,000 people, roughly three-quarters of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Four of the seven candidates, Richard Milton (The Brexit Party), Citizen Skwith (Monster Raving Loony Party), Bob Dobbs (independent) and Nigel Furness (UKIP) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingBRIGHTON PAVILION RESULT: Green Party hold

The UK's only Green Party MP has held onto her seat with an increased majority.

Brighton Pavilion result

Profile: Brighton Pavilion

View more on twitter

Since 2010 this has been the seat of the UK’s first and, so far, only Green Party MP, Caroline Lucas, and it will take a swing of nearly 13% for challenger Adam Imanpour to win back a seat Labour held for 15 years.

With an estimated declaration time of 06:00 GMT, this contest will also feature candidates from both the Brexit Party (Richard Milton) and UKIP (Nigel Furness), although in a constituency which voted 74.1% in favour of remain in the 2016 referendum, it remains to be seen how much headway they will be able to make.

Emma Louise Hogan will be hoping to pull off a surprise win for the Conservatives, for whom it was a stronghold until 1995.

Completing the line-up are independent Bob Dobbs and the Monster Raving Loony Party candidate Citizen Skwith.

Caroline Lucas: Exit poll 'a devastating blow'

Green Party candidate Caroline Lucas, who previously held the party's only seat in Parliament, Brighton Pavilion, tweets her take on the exit poll result.

The poll predicts her party will win one seat again this time.

View more on twitter