UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Bournemouth West

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Conor Burns
    • Votes: 24,550
    • Vote share %: 53.4
    • Vote share change: -0.1
  2. Labour
    David Stokes
    • Votes: 14,400
    • Vote share %: 31.3
    • Vote share change: -4.9
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Jon Nicholas
    • Votes: 4,931
    • Vote share %: 10.7
    • Vote share change: +4.1
  4. Green
    Simon Bull
    • Votes: 2,096
    • Vote share %: 4.6
    • Vote share change: +1.8

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 10,150
  • Registered voters: 74,205
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: +1.1

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 53.4%
Labour 31.3%
Liberal Democrat 10.7%
Green 4.6%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Liberal Democrat +4.1 Gained
  • Green +1.8 Gained
  • Conservative -0.1 Lost
  • Labour -4.9 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Bournemouth West: Conservative hold

Conor Burns has been re-elected as the MP for Bournemouth West, with an increased majority.

The Conservative candidate beat Labour's David Stokes by 10,150 votes, 2,439 more votes than the majority at the 2017 election.

Jon Nicholas of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Green Party's Simon Bull came fourth.

Voter turnout was up by 1.1 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 46,000 people, 62% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

One of the four candidates, Simon Bull (Green) lost his £500 deposit after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

Country can 'move beyond Brexit' - Burns

Conor Burns has been speaking after he retained Bournemouth West with 53.4% of the votes

"There was an overwhelming sense nationally that the country simply wanted to move on.

"They saw the House of Commons unable to make decisions, paralysed by its inability to decide anything.

"We can finally move on beyond Brexit and on to the things that people really care about - schools, the NHS and local policing"

Conor Burns

BreakingConservatives hold Bournemouth West

Conor Burns has held Bournemouth West for the Conservatives.

Dorset's solid blue electoral landscape

Tristan Pascoe

BBC Radio Solent political reporter

It’s unlikely there will be any huge electoral surprises in Dorset, with all eight seats held by the Conservatives, and none considered as marginal.

Two constituencies (Christchurch, North Dorset) have Tory majorities of more than 25,000. But it doesn’t mean there won’t be anything of interest to watch for.

Take Christchurch which Sir Christopher Chope has held since 1997. During the last Parliament, was branded a "dinosaur" after blocking bills on upskirting and demale genital mutilation - his own constituency association was split over him being adopted again as the Conservative candidate.

The Lib Dems say Mid Dorset and North Poole (held for them by them Annette Brooke 2001 - 2015) is a key target seat for them.

The national Labour narrative of the NHS has featured locally with many candidates in the Bournemouth Poole Christchurch conurbation opposed to the reorganisation of health services locally and the moving of A&E from Poole to Bournemouth.

There will definitely be at least one new MP in the county though. Sir Oliver Letwin, chief agitator for extending Article 50 and delaying Brexit until No Deal had been ruled out, has stepped down from his West Dorset seat after 22 years.

Boris Johnson’s main message of Get Brexit Done was in many senses preaching to the converted in Dorset - where every single electoral district in the county voted to Leave in the 2016 referendum.

Counting at Bournemouth

Award for the best ceiling adornment at a counting venue probably goes to the BIC where counting is underway for the Bournemouth East and West seats...

BIC vote counting
Bournemouth count