UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2


Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Luke Evans
    • Votes: 36,056
    • Vote share %: 63.9
    • Vote share change: +7.2
  2. Labour
    Rick Middleton
    • Votes: 9,778
    • Vote share %: 17.3
    • Vote share change: -6.7
  3. Liberal Democrat
    Michael Mullaney
    • Votes: 9,096
    • Vote share %: 16.1
    • Vote share change: -1.2
  4. Green
    Mick Gregg
    • Votes: 1,502
    • Vote share %: 2.7
    • Vote share change: +0.8

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 26,278
  • Registered voters: 81,542
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: +0.4

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 63.9%
Labour 17.3%
Liberal Democrat 16.1%
Green 2.7%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Conservative +7.2 Gained
  • Green +0.8 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat -1.2 Lost
  • Labour -6.7 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Bosworth: Conservative hold

Luke Evans has been elected MP for Bosworth, meaning that the Conservative Party holds the seat with an increased majority.

The new MP beat Labour's Rick Middleton by 26,278 votes. Mr Evans takes over from former Conservative MP David Tredinnick, who represented Bosworth from 1987 to 2019.

Michael Mullaney of the Liberal Democrats came third and the Green Party's Mick Gregg came fourth.

Voter turnout was up by 0.4 percentage points since the last general election.

More than 56,000 people, 69.2% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

One of the four candidates, Mr Gregg lost his £500 deposit after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

MP celebrates win in Bosworth

Amy Woodfield

BBC News

Dr Luke Evans is celebrating becoming the new Conservative MP in Bosworth with a glass of bubbly.

He received 36,056 votes to be elected with an increased majority of 26,278.

The GP has taken over from David Tredinnick who stepped down last month after being the MP since 1987.

Dr Luke Evans

BreakingConservatives hold Bosworth

Amy Woodfield

BBC News

Luke Evans has won the Bosworth election for the Conservative Party succeeding David Tredinnick who stepped down as MP last month.

Lib Dem candidate prepares for 'challenging result'

Jack Rafferty

BBC Radio Leicester

In Hinckley the counting of votes is under way and there are a few more slips to count than in 2017.

The turnout for the Bosworth constituency is 69.49% - that's up from 68.8%.

Bosworth count

One man hoping to see plenty of crosses next to his name is the Lib Dem candidate Michael Mullaney.

This has been his fourth campaign and accepts this year it's going to be a "challenging result."

He said: "There's been quite a lot of support for me, obviously this is an area which has traditionally been Conservative, and it's quite a good year for the Conservatives.

"Quite a few people have voted for me and a lot of people I think appreciated the work of the local Liberal councillors in the area."

Twycross Zoo praised by PM for conservation work

Calum McKenzie

BBC Local Live

Twycross Zoo has received praise from the Prime Minister for its "valuable" work in helping protect endangered species.

Theresa May

Theresa May made the comments about the Leicestershire-based zoo in response to a question about the ivory trade from Bosworth MP David Tredinnick.

"I commend those... who are doing this valuable work," she told the Commons.

Twycross Zoo currently cares for 150 species of animal, many of which are endangered.

Visitors to Twycross Zoo

Bosworth: Conservative hold

Election Graphic

Home time in Bosworth

Emma Rushton

BBC Leicester reporter

Everyone heading home from the Bosworth count now - David Tredinnick is delighted...

Conservatives in Bosworth

Labour's Chris Kealey said he made strong gains and it's not over yet.

Labout in Bosworth

BreakingBosworth: Conservative hold

Emma Rushton

BBC Leicester reporter

Conservative hold here in Bosworth - David Treddinick is re-elected for a 7th time.

Security at Bosworth count

Emma Rushton

BBC Leicester reporter

Sergeant Mike Lang, PC Mike Statt and PC Matt Lanigan keeping everyone safe here at the Bosworth count...

Police in Bosworth