UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Blackpool South

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Scott Benton
    • Votes: 16,247
    • Vote share %: 49.6
    • Vote share change: +6.5
  2. Labour
    Gordon Marsden
    • Votes: 12,557
    • Vote share %: 38.3
    • Vote share change: -12.0
  3. The Brexit Party
    David Brown
    • Votes: 2,009
    • Vote share %: 6.1
    • Vote share change: +6.1
  4. Liberal Democrat
    Bill Greene
    • Votes: 1,008
    • Vote share %: 3.1
    • Vote share change: +1.3
  5. Green
    Becky Daniels
    • Votes: 563
    • Vote share %: 1.7
    • Vote share change: +0.7
  6. Independent
    Gary Coleman
    • Votes: 368
    • Vote share %: 1.1
    • Vote share change: +1.1

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 3,690
  • Registered voters: 57,690
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: -3.0

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 49.6%
Labour 38.3%
The Brexit Party 6.1%
Liberal Democrat 3.1%
Green 1.7%
Independent 1.1%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Conservative +6.5 Gained
  • The Brexit Party +6.1 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat +1.3 Gained
  • Independent +1.1 Gained
  • Green +0.7 Gained
  • Labour -12.0 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

New Blackpool MP in airport pledge

In his victory speech, the new Conservative MP for Blackpool South has pledged to campaign to reopen Blackpool Airport to commercial traffic.

Scott Benton, who defeated Labour incumbent Gordon Marsden, said his win was “a victory for the decent, hardworking and patriotic people of Blackpool”.

Scott Benton

He cited his support for Brexit and the unpopularity of Jeremy Corbyn as key factors in his election victory.

Mr Marsden said it had been a "privilege" to have served as its MP.

He added: "Blackpool is a fantastic town and not somewhere drawn up anonymously by the Boundary Commission.”

Blackpool South: Conservative gain

Scott Benton has been elected as the MP for Blackpool South, beating Labour's Gordon Marsden by 3,690 votes.

The Conservative Party overturned a 2,523 vote majority to take the formerly Labour-held seat.

David Brown of the Brexit Party came third and Liberal Democrat Bill Greene came fourth.

Voter turnout was down by 3 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 33,000 people, 56.8% of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

Three of the six candidates, Bill Greene (Liberal Democrat), Becky Daniels (Green) and Gary Coleman (independent) lost their £500 deposits after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.

BreakingRESULT: Conservatives take Blackpool South

Scott Benton has taken Blackpool South for the Conservative Party from Labour's Gordon Marsden.

Analysis: 'Worried looking Labour faces in Lancashire'

Mike Stevens

Lancashire political correspondent, BBC News

At a number of Lancashire’s 16 counts, you can see huddles of worried-looking people wearing red rosettes.

The Conservatives tried to brand this as the ‘Brexit election’ and it seems that might have been the case.

In seats where around two-thirds of the electorate voted to Leave the EU in 2016, the Tories are hoping to make gains.

Blackpool South and Hyndburn look particularly vulnerable as does Burnley – where there hasn’t been a Conservative MP for more than 100 years.