UK results: Conservatives win majority

After 650 of 650 seats declared
UK results
Party Conservative Labour Scottish National Party Liberal Democrat Democratic Unionist Party Others
Seats 365 203 48 11 8 15
Change +47 -59 +13 -1 -2 +2

Bishop Auckland

Parliamentary constituency



  1. Conservative
    Dehenna Davison
    • Votes: 24,067
    • Vote share %: 53.7
    • Vote share change: +6.8
  2. Labour
    Helen Goodman
    • Votes: 16,105
    • Vote share %: 35.9
    • Vote share change: -12.1
  3. The Brexit Party
    Nicholas Brown
    • Votes: 2,500
    • Vote share %: 5.6
    • Vote share change: +5.6
  4. Liberal Democrat
    Ray Georgeson
    • Votes: 2,133
    • Vote share %: 4.8
    • Vote share change: +2.0

Change compared with 2017


  • CON majority: 7,962
  • Registered voters: 68,170
  • % share:
  • Change since 2017: +1.8

Vote share

Party % share
Conservative 53.7%
Labour 35.9%
The Brexit Party 5.6%
Liberal Democrat 4.8%

Vote share change since 2017

  • Conservative +6.8 Gained
  • The Brexit Party +5.6 Gained
  • Liberal Democrat +2.0 Gained
  • Labour -12.1 Lost

Find a constituency

Find a constituency

Latest updates

Coronavirus latest: Bishop Auckland MP told to self-isolate

Bishop Auckland's recently-elected Tory MP Dehenna Davison says she's been told to self-isolate as part of measures to prevent the spread of coronavirus.

View more on twitter

Bishop Auckland MP vows to reduce violence

BBC Tees

The new Conservative MP for Bishop Auckland has vowed to champion policies to reduce violence.

Dehenna Davison told the Commons how when she was 13 her father was killed by a single punch from a man who admitted he was high on drink and drugs.

She thanked the NHS staff who fought to save him, and told MPs she wanted now to use her time in office to push for policies to help educate disadvantaged young people, rehabilitate offenders and give the police the resources they need to do their jobs.

Dehenna Davison
Conservative Party

North East has seen 'political earthquake'

Richard Moss

Political Editor, BBC Look North

The North East has seen the equivalent of a political earthquake - the region has not seen as many seats change hands in one election in living memory.

Margaret Thatcher never had as many MPs in this region as Boris Johnson will have. And some now represent constituencies we were told would never vote Conservative.

Communities built on the steel industry, like Consett and Redcar, and former mining areas like Blyth Valley and Bishop Auckland have placed their trust in the Tories.

The Labour party chairman Ian Lavery, a former miner, survived by the skin of his teeth in Wansbeck. Laura Pidcock, a Corbynite who could have been in the running to be the next Labour leader, saw North West Durham's voters reject her.

So what happened? Get Brexit Done certainly resonated. The gains were all in leave-voting seats which seem to have blamed Labour for the parliamentary deadlock.

But Labour candidates will tell you that Jeremy Corbyn was a bigger issue on the doorstep. Not many of their voters wanted him anywhere near Number 10.

But there are dangers. Every economic study suggests it's the North East that will suffer the most harm from leaving the European Union. And just talking about the idea of a Northern Powerhouse will no longer be enough.

Constituents of these new Conservative MPs will expect them and their party to deliver Brexit, but also more investment in the North.

General election 2019: The story in the North East

If you're just waking up here is what happened overnight across the North East:

  • Newcastle Central was the first seat to be declared with Labour's Chi Onwurah keeping her seat but with a decreased majority
  • The first shock of the night came when the Conservatives took Blyth Valley, which has been Labour since it was created in 1950
  • There was further bad news for Labour when they lost Darlington, Stockton South, Redcar, Bishop Auckland, Sedgefield and North West Durham to the Conservatives. For Bishop Auckland and Redcar, it is the first Conservative MP they have had
  • Labour has held on to all the other seats in the region, but in almost every case with a reduced majority
  • The Brexit Party failed to win its top target of Hartlepool, with Labour holding on
Conservatives break Labour's 50-year hold in Blyth Valley

'Tory gains eclipse Thatcher achievement'

Our political editor Richard Moss caught this snap of the jubilant winners in Bishop Auckland and Sedgefield, Dehenna Davison and Paul Howell:

View more on twitter

How Labour's 'red wall' crumbled since 1997

Financial Times reporter Sebastian Payne outlines the sheer scale of how Labour's vote has disintegrated over 22 years, with the North East and Cumbria in particular focus:

View more on twitter

Bishop Auckland: Conservative gain

Dehenna Davison has been elected as the MP for Bishop Auckland, beating Labour's Helen Goodman by 7,962 votes.

The Conservative Party overturned a 502 vote majority to take the formerly Labour-held seat.

It had been held by Labour since 1935.

Nicholas Brown of the Brexit Party came third and Liberal Democrat Ray Georgeson came fourth.

Voter turnout was up by 1.8 percentage points since the last general election.

Nearly 45,000 people, roughly two-thirds of those eligible to vote, went to polling stations across the area on Thursday, in the first December general election since 1923.

One of the four candidates, Ray Georgeson (Liberal Democrat) lost his £500 deposit after failing to win 5% of the vote.

This story was created using some automation.